Former Proteas star Simon Harmer back in SA to bolster Titans

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Simon Harmer. (Jacques Feeney/Getty Images)
Simon Harmer. (Jacques Feeney/Getty Images)

International spinner and County Championship star Simon Harmer has joined the Titans for their Provincial T20 Cup knockout stage campaign.

The Test-capped Protea has had a stellar English County Championship career, and his variety and consistency come as a significant injection of quality into Mandla Mashimbyi's squad. 

Harmer was nominated alongside fellow South African and Western Province batter David Bedingham for the Professional Cricketers' Association Player of the Year award. 

READ | Proteas baggage? Rabada not interested as T20 World Cup opportunity nears

They will also compete with England Test captain Joe Root and Nottinghamshire all-rounder Luke Wells for the honour.

With Proteas Test skipper Dean Elgar hamstrung, the side will be led in the knockout stages by veteran left-armer Aaron Phangiso, with the likes of Junior Dala and Theunis De Bruyn also adding international pedigree into their ranks.

"Harmy is a great addition because he brings a proper threat with the ball and also provides a handy batting option. We've started steadily, but now we want to really get into our stride with the knockouts ahead of us," head coach Mashimbyi said.

"There is a winning culture here, and we always want to build on that. It's great having Simon joining us because he's someone who has shown that a spinner is as big a threat as a fast bowler in any format."

South Western Districts clash with the Titans at the Diamond Oval in Kimberley (10:00) on Tuesday in the first Provincial T20 Cup quarter-final, followed by the Knights versus Western Province (14:30) at the same venue.

The games are expected to have fans attending after Cricket South Africa received government's go-ahead to host 2 000 vaccinated spectators at cricket grounds.

Titans Squad: Jan Hendrik Pretorius, Corbin Bosch, Junior Dala, Dayyaan Galiem, Aya Gqamane, Okuhle Cele, Neil Brand, Jiveshen Pillay, Theunis de Bruyn, Grant Mokoena, Aaron Phangiso (C), Gihahn Cloete, Sibonelo Makhanya, Donovan Ferreira, Simon Harmer. 

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
India 325/10 & 30/0
New Zealand 62/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5532 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 936 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2878 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4718 votes