Graeme Smith joins MCC World Cricket committee

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Graeme Smith (Gallo)
Graeme Smith (Gallo)

Former Proteas captain, Graeme Smith, has joined the MCC World Cricket committee, it was announced on Tuesday.

READ | Proteas spinner Mlaba moves to career-best 2nd in ICC T20 rankings

Smith, the current commissioner of the SA20, is joined by former Australian opening batsman and national coach Justin Langer as well as Claire Connor, former captain of the England women's team.

Smith, Langer, and Connor are the first appointment to the committee post Covid-19 and will meet with their counterparts next week to discuss various topics affecting world cricket, including playing schedules.

The MCC World Cricket committee chairman, Mike Gatting, was ecstatic that the trio had agreed to serve in their new capacity.

"We are extremely pleased to be able to welcome Clare, Justin, and Graeme to the World Cricket committee. It is fantastic news that they have accepted our invitations," Gatting said.

"All three will bring different insights to the game, and their deep knowledge from the elite level will be hugely advantageous to the work of the committee," he added.

Smith has been the driving force behind the SA20 tournament, which has been a huge success, drawing back crowds into stadiums around South Africa over the last month. 

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Show Comments ()
Voting Booth
The 2023 Fourmula One season starts this weekend. Who is your favourite to win the driver's championship this year?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Max Verstappen
58% - 4006 votes
Lewis Hamilton
18% - 1216 votes
Charles Leclerc
11% - 761 votes
George Russell
3% - 222 votes
None of the above. We're in for a surprise!
9% - 643 votes
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.