India win toss, bowl in MCG T20

Virat Kohli (Getty Images)
Virat Kohli (Getty Images)

Melbourne - India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bowl in the second Twenty20 international against Australia in Melbourne on Friday as they look to square the series.

SCORECARD: Australia v India, 2nd T20

Australia won a nail-biting and rain-affected first match in Brisbane by four runs, with the third and final game in Sydney on Sunday.

It was a confidence-boosting win for the home team - their first in five T20s and only their sixth in 23 internationals - ahead of a four-Test series against the visitors.

On a cold, grey day, India opted to go with an unchanged side.

"We're going to have a bowl first. We did well in the last game and we just need to do the little things right," said Kohli.

Australia suffered a setback in the warm-up at the Melbourne Cricket Ground with fast bowler Billy Stanlake rolling his ankle, with Nathan Coulter-Nile replacing him.

"I would have bowled first as well," said Australia skipper Aaron Finch.

"Hopefully we put some runs on the board and then pick up some early wickets."

The last time India played a T20 series in Australia (in 2016) they blanked the hosts 3-0.



D'Arcy Short, Aaron Finch (captain), Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ben McDermott, Alex Carey, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile


Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed

Umpires: Gerard Abood (AUS) and Simon Fry (AUS)

TV umpire: Paul Wilson (AUS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3556 votes
11% - 844 votes
18% - 1368 votes
2% - 145 votes
1% - 62 votes
2% - 160 votes
5% - 386 votes
7% - 573 votes
3% - 237 votes
Water sports
1% - 64 votes
American sports
1% - 59 votes
3% - 199 votes