Indian Premier League

As it happened | IPL final - Chennai Super Kings claim IPL title No 4

IPL. (Twitter)
IPL. (Twitter)

Last Updated
Live News Feed
Go to start

15 October 20:06


The Chennai Super Kings have beaten the Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs as opener Faf du Plessis scored a blistering 86 off 59 balls (7 fours and 3 sixes). 

Shardul Thakur took three for 38 as KKR stumbled to 165/9 in their 20 overs.

This is Chennai Super Kings' fourth IPL title after winning in 2010, 2011 and 2018.

15 October 19:59

Chennai Super Kings win by 27 runs and are your 2021 Indian Premier League champions!

15 October 19:59


Bravo strikes as Shivam Mavi falls for 20 with one more ball of the IPL left.

KKR 164/9 in 19.5 overs.

15 October 19:57

Kolkata Knight Riders need 29 off 3 balls, it's impossible.

15 October 19:55

Dwayne Bravo is bowling the final over of the IPL as he defends 31.

15 October 19:55

One over to go:

An expensive and long (10 balls and 17 runs) 19th over comes to end as Kolkata need 31 runs off the final over.

Lockie Ferguson 16*

Shivam Mavi 19*

KKR 162/8 in 19 overs

15 October 19:47

18 overs gone:

Chennai Super Kings are on the cusp of their fourth IPL title with Kolkata still requiring 48 off 12 balls.

Lockie Ferguson 4*

Shivam Mavi 18*

KKR 145/8 in 18 overs

15 October 19:38


Eoin Morgan departs for 4 as Josh Hazelwood takes the wicket of the Kolkata Knight Riders captain after getting caught by a brilliant boundary catch thanks to Shardul Thakur.

KKR 125/8 in 16.3 overs.

Knight Riders require 68 runs in 21 balls for the title.

15 October 19:34

Eoin Morgan 3*

Lockie Ferguson 2*

KKR 125/7 in 16 overs

15 October 19:33


Shardul Thakur takes his third wicket as Rahul Tripathi is caught at long on for 2.

KKR 123/7 in 15.4 overs.

Knight Riders still require 70 runs in 26 balls for the title.

15 October 19:26


Ravindra Jadeja takes another in the same over as Shakib Al Hasan is trapped lbw for a golden duck.

KKR 120/6 in 15 overs.

Knight Riders still require 73 runs in 30 balls for the title.

15 October 19:23


After a few dot balls by Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik goes deep and is caught on the boundary for 9. Jadeja picks up his first wicket

KKR 119/5 in 14.5 overs

Kolkata Knight Riders need 74 off 31.

15 October 19:15


Things are starting to swing in favour of CSK as Shubman Gill misses and is trapped lbw for a well-played 51 off 43 balls. Deepak Chahar gets his first wicket of the game.

KKR 108/4 in 13.2 overs

Knight Riders still require 85 runs in 40 balls for the win.   

15 October 19:12


Shubnam Gill reaches his 10th IPL half-century as he hits it in 40 balls.

KKR 108/3 in 13 overs

15 October 19:09

Three quick wickets have fallen for Kolkata, while Shabnam Gill, unbeaten on 42, watches from the other side

KKR 99/3 in 12 overs

15 October 19:05


Josh Hazlewood strikes as Sunil Narine tries to go big but is caught on the boundary for 2.

KKR 97/3 in 11.3 overs

Knight Riders still require 96 runs in 51 balls for the win.   

15 October 19:02


Faf du Plessis takes a simple catch as Nitish Rana departs for a golden duck. Shardul Thakur picks up his second wicket of the over!

KKR 93/2 in 11 overs

Kolkata need 100 off 54 balls

15 October 19:00


Shardul Thakur strikes for Chennai as Venkatesh Iyer hits the ball high up in the air for an easy catch and departs for 50 off 32 balls.

KKR 92/1 in 10.3 overs

15 October 18:54

Halfway point for KKR and they sit on 88/0 after 10 

Chennai were unlucky in the previous over but Kolkata are still in control as they need 105 off 60 balls

15 October 18:53


Ravindra Jadeja supposedly strikes for CSK as Shubman Gill hits the ball high up in the air and the ball touches the stadium's roof despite Rayudu catching the ball. Chennai rejoices, thinking its a wicket, but the umpire calls it a dead ball.

KKR 79/0 in 9.3 overs

15 October 18:48


Kolkata opener Venkatesh Iyer reaches his fourth half-century as he gets it in 31 balls

KKR  79/0 in 9.2 overs

15 October 18:47

Shubman Gill 27*

Venkatesh Iyer 43*

KKR 72/0 in 9 overs 

Kolkata need 121 runs in 66 balls.

15 October 18:38

7 overs gone:

Gill (23*) and Iyer (34*) are still going strong for KKR as CSK search for a wicket.

KKR 59/0 in 7 overs

Kolkata require 134 runs in 78 balls.

15 October 18:26

Five overs gone:

A good opening stand for KKR as they are going at the current run rate of 9 an over. The Knight Riders still need 146 off 90 balls

Shubman Gill 16*

Venkatesh Iyer 29*

KKR 47/0 in 5 overs

15 October 18:22

GAME ON in Dubai as Kolkata chase 193 for the IPL title.

KKR 36-0 after 4 overs

15 October 18:15

Venkatesh Iyer (15*) and Shubman Gill (8*) are off to a good start as KKR try and keep up with the run rate.

KKR 24/0 in 3 overs

Knight Riders need 169 runs from 102 balls.

15 October 18:09


Chennai wicketkeeper MS Dhoni drops Venkatesh Iyer on 0 from behind off Josh Hazlewood. The following delivery Iyer hits Hazlewood for a six.

KKR 13/0 in 1.4 overs.

15 October 18:07

First over done and dusted. No wickets have fallen yet as KKR look to deny Chennai Super Kings of their fourth IPL title.

KKR 6/0 in 1 overs

Knight Riders require 187 runs in 114 balls.

15 October 18:02

A wide off the first ball by Deepak Chahar and Gill hits a four off the official first ball of KKR's run chase.

KKR 5/0 in 0.1 overs

15 October 18:00

Kolkata Knight Riders run chase is under way with Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer at the crease

Can they chase 193 to win their third IPL title?

15 October 17:49


Opener Faf du Plessis scored a blistering 86 off 59 balls for the Chennai Super Kings as they posted to 192/3 in their 20 overs.

Sunil Narine was the pick of the KKR bowlers as he returned figures of two for 26.

Kolkata Knight Riders require 193 runs to win at 9.65 runs a over.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24