Kagiso Rabada among top draft picks for inaugural The Hundred

Fast bowler Kagiso Rabada
Fast bowler Kagiso Rabada
Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Proteas fast bowler Kagiso Rabada was revealed as one of the biggest signings at The Hundred 2021 player draft, which was announced on Tuesday.

Rabada was snapped up by the Manchester Originals for the new 100-balls-per-side format.

On Tuesday, 35 players were chosen out of more than 500 overseas and English players vying for a place in the inaugural tournament.

Former Proteas batsman Colin Ingram was also picked on Tuesday as an overseas player for the Oval Invincibles.

Former Proteas all-rounder and now Netherlands star Roelof van der Merwe was retained by the London Spirit but not as an overseas player on account of his EU status.

Former Warriors and current Netherlands all-rounder Colin Ackermann will play alongside Rabada as he was retained by the Originals.

The eight teams will now be able to add a wildcard pick ahead of the men's Hundred starting on 22 July.

Meanwhile, the women's The Hundred saw all five Proteas stars retained by their respective franchises.

After the opening two matches, the rest of the schedule will see the men's and women's teams play on the same day at the same venue as the women's The Hundred campaign gets underway from 24 July.

Proteas women in the women's Hundred:

London Spirit - Chloe Tryon 

Manchester Originals - Lizelle Lee, Mignon Du Preez

Oval Invincibles - Marizanne KappDane van Niekerk

The Hundred men's squads:

Birmingham Phoenix

Tom Abell, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Miles Hammond, Chris Woakes, Dom Sibley, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali (captain), Kane Williamson, Benny Howell, Tom Helm, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Pat Brown, Adam Hose, Adam Zampa, Henry Brookes, Chris Cooke

London Spirit

Ravi Bopara, Chris Wood, Zak Crawley, Glenn Maxwell, Eoin Morgan (captain), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nabi, Mark Wood, Joe Denly, Dan Lawrence, Mason Crane, Adam Rossington, Roelof van der Merwe, Jade Dernbach, Luis Reece

Manchester Originals

Nicholas Pooran, Kagiso Rabada, Harry Gurney, Jamie Overton, Shadab Khan, Tom Lammonby, Steven Finn, Colin Ackermann, Richard Gleeson, Jos Buttler, Phil Salt, Joe Clarke, Wayne Madsen, Matt Parkinson

Northern Superchargers

Olly Stone, Matty Potts, Matthew Fisher, Harry Brook, Callum Parkinson, Ben Stokes, Aaron Finch, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Chris Lynn, Adil Rashid, Adam Lyth, David Willey, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Brydon Carse, John Simpson

Oval Invincibles

Saqib Mahmood, Colin Ingram, Jordan Clark, Brandon Glover, Sam Curran, Rory Burns, Jason Roy, Sunil Narine, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Sandeep Lamichhane, Reece Topley, Will Jacks, Laurie Evans, Nathan Sowter, Alex Blake

Southern Brave

David Warner, Danny Briggs, Jofra Archer, Andre Russell, Marcus Stoinis, James Vince, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Delray Rawlins, Alex Davies, George Garton, Ross Whiteley, Max Waller, Craig Overton

Trent Rockets

Timm van der Gugten, Samit Patel, Joe Root, Rashid Khan, D'Arcy Short, Lewis Gregory, Alex Hales, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Dawid Malan, Matt Carter, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney, Luke Wood, Luke Wright, Ben Cox

Welsh Fire

Kieron Pollard, Jhye Richardson, Jake Ball, Ian Cockbain, Josh Cobb, Matt Critchley, David Lloyd, Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Qais Ahmad, Liam Plunkett, David Payne, Ryan Higgins

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
40% - 13909 votes
13% - 4333 votes
19% - 6454 votes
3% - 890 votes
1% - 333 votes
2% - 802 votes
5% - 1741 votes
9% - 2941 votes
3% - 1206 votes
Water sports
1% - 318 votes
American sports
1% - 431 votes
3% - 1153 votes