Proteas women stars sign up for the Hundred

Marizanne Kapp (Getty Images)
Marizanne Kapp (Getty Images)

Proteas women all-rounders Marizanne Kapp and Chloe Tryon have signed up for the inaugural edition of The Hundred.

The England and Wales Cricket Board has announced that the player of the tournament in the Women's T20 World Cup Beth Mooney will link up with captain Meg Lanning at Welsh Fire.

Mooney, plus fellow Australians Ashleigh Gardner and Nicola Carey and South Africa all-rounders , as the latest internationals to sign up for the event.

Mooney was a pivotal figure in Australia collecting a fifth T20 crown, leading the run charts with 259 at an average of 64.75 and strike-rate of 125.12, including an unbeaten 78 in Sunday's final against India at the MCG.

In joining Lanning and their fellow Australian Jess Jonassen as the three overseas players permitted in a 15-strong squad, Mooney believes the Cardiff-based side are on a strong footing.

The opener, who is the number one-ranked batter in T20s, said: "I'm really excited to take part in the first season of The Hundred. It looks likes it is developing into a high-quality, world-class competition."

Gardner, an ever-present as a top-order batter in Australia's march to glory in recent weeks, has become Birmingham Phoenix's second overseas signing, joining New Zealand's Sophie Devine.

Seam bowler Carey, another member of the triumphant Australia squad, will unite with compatriot Alyssa Healy at Northern Superchargers.

Kapp will join wife and Proteas captain Dane van Niekerk at Oval Invincibles while Tryon, another of the South Africa squad that reached the T20 World Cup semi-finals, is set for a stint at London Spirit.

Beth Barrett-Wild, the head of the Hundred women's competition, said: "It's fantastic to see five more international stars signing up to play in The Hundred this summer.

"We've now confirmed the names of 18 overseas players who will compete in the women's competition, including the likes of Meg Lanning, Suzie Bates, Stafanie Taylor and Lizelle Lee; with six still to go, the standard of cricket is set to be very high."

The Hundred teams with South Africa participation:

London Spirit - Chloe Tryon

Manchester Originals - Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee

Oval Invincibles - Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk

- TEAMtalk media

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 6463 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
6% - 1022 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 3514 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 5521 votes