Elgar takes Smith's contract

Dean Elgar (AFP)
Dean Elgar (AFP)
Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Thursday named Dean Elgar as the replacement for Graeme Smith on its national list of contracted players for the 2014/15 year.

Smith, who was on the original list of contracted players, announced his retirement from international cricket earlier this week.

Elgar had lost his contract when the new list was recently announced.

“Dean is the obvious replacement and must be excited by the opportunity to emulate the greatness achieved by his recently retired national captain,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

“He has all the attributes and qualifies as the next player eligible to be awarded a contract in terms of the new methodology we developed together with the South African Cricketers’ Association (SACA).

“As mentioned before, the Board has also agreed to award multi-year contracts to our top players to secure and recognise their value.”

The seven players awarded two-year contracts are: Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Morné Morkel, Vernon Philander and Dale Steyn.

The other 10 nationally contracted players awarded one-year contracts are: Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Imran Tahir and Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

As previously announced, Jacques Kallis has been awarded a special contract for one year only.

In addition, CSA has announced the 12 franchise players to receive CSA High Performance Centre (HPC) top-up contracts, also for a one-year period.

“This is investment in our future,” commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson.

“We are keen to centrally influence the management and close monitoring of these exciting young players so that we can provide the best chance of developing their careers to the full potential.

“I am excited by the mix of this group of talented players and it is now up to our programmes to develop these players to one day represent the Proteas as we move into a new era following the retirement of several great players from the Test squad.

“The HPC players will be managed, developed and monitored quarterly to see that they are fulfilling their potential.”

The CSA HPC contracted players are: Kyle Abbott, Temba Bavuma, Simon Harmer, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Eddie Leie, Mangaliso Mosehle, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Stiaan van Zyl, and Khaya Zondo.

Lorgat also took the opportunity to confirm enhancements to the existing BskyB broadcasting deal that would extend broadcast content into the markets of UK, Ireland and mainland Europe.

“It is really exciting to work with our commercial partners to seek new opportunities and even augment existing deals. Their confidence in South African cricket and our future tours programme is truly rewarding,” stated Lorgat.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
South Africa 139/5
England 0
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10072 votes
11% - 2704 votes
19% - 4549 votes
2% - 596 votes
1% - 228 votes
2% - 553 votes
5% - 1186 votes
8% - 2000 votes
3% - 813 votes
Water sports
1% - 214 votes
American sports
1% - 298 votes
3% - 774 votes