Four Proteas named Honorary Life Members at Lord's

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Hashim Amla (Getty Images)
Hashim Amla (Getty Images)
Sydney Seshibedi/Gallo Images/Getty Images

Four former Proteas have been named as honorary life members of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

Jacques Kallis, Morne Morkel, Hashim Amla and Herschelle Gibbs were among the 18 former players named last week.

They join an elite group that includes Sir Alastair Cook, Damien Martyn, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Grant Flower, Harbhajan Singh and Sarah Taylor, amongst others.

Kallis, who retired from Test cricket in 2013 and all international cricket a year later, played 166 Tests, 328 one-day internationals and 25 T20 internationals.

He scored over 25 000 runs with 13 289 coming in the longer format of the game.

Amla, too, had a long distinguished career for South Africa playing in well over 300 games for the Proteas. 

He is the holder of the highest Test score by a South African (311*).

Herschelle Gibbs is famously remembered for his impressive innings of 175 off 111 balls against Australia in the famous "438" one day international in 2006.

Gibbs also smashed six sixes in an over against the Netherlands at the 2007 World Cup and scored over 14 000 international runs during his time with the national team.

Morkel was a critical part of the Proteas' much-vaunted Test pace attack from 2006 to 2018.

He took 309 wickets in Tests and over 500 for South Africa in all formats.

Full list of honourary life members of the MCC for 2021

Hashim Amla (South Africa)

Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa)

Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

Morne Morkel (South Africa)

Ian Bell (England)

Ian Bishop (West Indies)

Alex Blackwell (Australia)

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)

Sir Alastair Cook (England)

Grant Flower (Zimbabwe)

Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)

Damien Martyn (Australia)

Sara McGlashan (New Zealand)

Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies)

Harbhajan Singh (India)

Javagal Srinath (India)

Sarah Taylor (England)

Marcus Trescothick (England)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
South Africa A 297/10 & 24/0
India A 276/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5490 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 934 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2849 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4690 votes