How Brexit could impact SA's Kolpak cricketers

Duanne Olivier (Gallo Images)
Duanne Olivier (Gallo Images)

London - A no-deal Brexit could mean "Kolpak" cricketers are gone from the English county game by 2021, according to updated guidance from the England and Wales Cricket Board.

The Kolpak ruling means that citizens of countries that have signed European Union Association Agreements, who are lawfully working within an EU country, have the same free movement rights as EU citizens.

Kolpak signings as well as cricketers with EU passports are currently eligible to play in England without counting as an "overseas" player, employment rulings that would both be directly affected by Britain's withdrawal from the European Union.

The ECB has issued an email to the 18 first-class counties noting a series of potential implications.

One such outcome involves the United Kingdom departing from the EU on October 31 without an agreement, which has frequently been floated by incoming prime minister Boris Johnson. 

In that case new Kolpak registrations would be impossible and existing deals would likely cease at the end of the 2020 season.

There are dozens of Kolpaks signed to counties, including several South Africans.

Some would be easily earn overseas deals in the event of their current status being revoked but many more would expect to leave the county circuit.

List of SA players currently on Kolpak deals:

Duanne Olivier, Wayne Parnell, Morne Morkel, Heino Kuhn, Marchant de Lange, Rilee Rossouw, Kyle Abbott, Daryn Smit, David Wiese, Stiaan van Zyl, Simon Harmer, Hardus Viljoen, Richard Levi, Dane Vilas, Colin Ingram

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7948 votes
11% - 1992 votes
19% - 3628 votes
2% - 467 votes
1% - 172 votes
2% - 446 votes
5% - 926 votes
8% - 1582 votes
3% - 633 votes
Water sports
1% - 170 votes
American sports
1% - 224 votes
3% - 577 votes