Ismail, Kapp named in ICC ODI, T20 Teams of the Year

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Proteas women's fast bowler Shabnim Ismail
Proteas women's fast bowler Shabnim Ismail
Darren Stewart/Gallo Images
  • The Proteas women dominated the ICC Women's ODI and T20 Teams of the Year after a stellar 2021 season.
  • Opener Lizelle Lee, all-rounder Marizanne Kapp and fast bowler Shabnim Ismail were selected in the ODI Team of the Year.
  • Kapp and Ismail joined batter Laura Wolvaardt in ICC Women's T20I Team of the Year.

The Proteas women bounced back to competitive cricket this year and recorded series wins against Pakistan, India and West Indies.

On Thursday, the International Cricket Council (ICC) recognised 11 outstanding individuals who have impressed one and all in both limited-overs formats in 2021.

Proteas batter Lizelle Lee, all-rounder Marizanne Kapp and fast bowler Shabnim Ismail were included in the Women's One-Day International (ODI) Team of the Year. 

Lee finished as the highest run-scorer in 2021, scoring 632 runs in 11 matches with an outstanding batting average of 90.28.

Nominated as ICC's Women's Cricketer of the Year, Lee made a century and five half-centuries this year to become the number one-ranked batter in the Women's ODI rankings.

Kapp has been one of the best performers with both bat and ball in 2021, scoring 183 runs at an average of 61 and picking up 11 wickets at an average of 29.18.

Ismail finished as the joint second-highest wicket-taker as she took 18 wickets in 12 matches in 2021.

Meanwhile, Kapp and Ismail joined batter Laura Wolvaardt in the ICC's T20I Team of the Year.

Wolvaardt was ever consistent in 2021 as she scored 161 runs in eight T20Is with an outstanding average of 53.66. 

Despite only playing six T20I matches in 2021, Kapp made an impact with both bat and ball as she scored 100 runs and picked up eight wickets.

Meanwhile, Ismail picked up 11 wickets in only six matches last year with her notable performance coming at Kingsmead where she took 5/12 against Pakistan.

The Proteas take on West Indies in four ODIs with the first ODI scheduled for Friday, 28 January at the Wanderers (10:00).

ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year:

Lizelle Lee (South Africa), Alyssa Healy (Australia), Tammy Beaumont (England), Mithali Raj (India), Heather Knight (Englan, captain), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Shabnim Ismail (South Africa), Fatima Sana (Pakistan), Jhulan Goswami (India), Anisa Mohammed (West Indies)

ICC Women's T20 Team of the Year:

Smriti Mandhana (India), Tammy Beaumont (England), Danny Wyatt (England), Gaby Lewis (Ireland), Nat Sciver  (England - captain), Amu Jones (England), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Loryn Phiri (Zimbabwe) and Shabnim Ismail (South Africa)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2412 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2209 votes