Proteas

Proteas' Sisanda Magala handed 1 ICC demerit point after incident in 4th T20

0:00
play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
South African bowler Sisanda Magala (AFP)
South African bowler Sisanda Magala (AFP)
Christiaan Kotze / AFP

Proteas bowler Sisanda Magala has been handed a demerit point for his actions during the fourth T20 against Pakistan at Centurion last week. 

The incident occurred in the 19th over of Pakistan’s innings when Magala hit the stumps with his hand, dislodging the bails at the bowler’s end after being hit for a six.

It was a hugely frustrating moment for the hosts that saw Magala hit for a six off a free-hit after he had bowled a no-ball. 

According to an ICC statement, Magala "admitted the offence and accepted the sanction."

There was thus no need for an official hearing. 

Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50 percent of a player’s match fee.

The Proteas went on to lose the match in the final over while they also lost the four-match series 3-1. 

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Rugby
40% - 14042 votes
Cricket
13% - 4363 votes
Football
19% - 6530 votes
Athletics
3% - 899 votes
Boxing
1% - 337 votes
Cycling
2% - 809 votes
Golf
5% - 1761 votes
Motorsport
9% - 2965 votes
Tennis
3% - 1216 votes
Water sports
1% - 319 votes
American sports
1% - 433 votes
MMA / WWE / UFC
3% - 1164 votes
Vote