Proteas slump to embarrassing defeat to Ireland

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Ireland's cricketers celebrate. (Photo by Seb Daly/Gallo Images)
Ireland's cricketers celebrate. (Photo by Seb Daly/Gallo Images)

The Proteas produced a limp display as they fell to an embarrassing 43-run loss to Ireland in the second ODI at the Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin on Tuesday.

SCORECARD | Ireland v SA, 2nd ODI

The visitors, chasing a target of 291, were bowled out for 247 in the 49th over after an horrendous batting collapse in the middle of the innings.

Having slipped to 51-2 in the 11th over after the loss of Aiden Markram (5) and skipper Temba Bavuma (10), Janneman Malan and Rassie van der Dussen rebuilt.

Malan hit 84 while Van der Dussen struck 49 as the duo put on 108 for the third wicket and, at 159-2, a good platform was laid to close out the run-chase.

However, both batsmen lost their wickets in quick succession and the chase never got any momentum from then on.

David Miller scored 24 while Keshav Maharaj (17) and Kagiso Rabada (16) hit a few boundaries towards the end, but by then the game was all but sealed for the home side.

Earlier, Ireland captain Andy Balbirnie struck 102 off 117 balls to anchor the hosts to a total of 290-5 in their 50 overs.

The Irish skipper was well supported by Harry Tector who accelerated to hit 79 off 68 deliveries while George Dockrell struck 45 off 23 balls.

Andile Phehlukwayo took two wickets but was expensive as he went for 73 in his 10 overs while Rabada (1-42), Maharaj (1-50) and Tabraiz Shamsi (1-42) took a wicket apiece.

Ireland's win also gave them 10 points in the World Cup Super League, which will qualify teams for the 2023 50-over showpiece in India.

Ireland white-ball wins over established Test nations, once restricted to World Cups, are no longer the shocks of old with Tuesday's triumph following a defeat of England in Southampton last year.

The Proteas now need to win the third and final ODI at the same venue on Friday to draw the three-match series after the first game was abandoned due to rain.



Andy Balbirnie (captain), Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, George Dockrell, Curtis Campher, Lorcan Tucker, Simi Singh, Andy McBrine, Mark Adair, Craig Young, Josh Little


Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Tema Bavuma (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wicket-keeper), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
With Faf de Klerk out injured, who should start at scrumhalf for the Springboks against Wales on 6 November?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Herschel Jantjies
33% - 493 votes
Cobus Reinach
64% - 968 votes
Grant Williams
4% - 53 votes