Cricket has had its fair share of strange dismissals over the years, but the latest involves New Zealand batsman Henry Nicholls during the third Test against England on Thursday.
If you look it up in the scorecard, you'll see: Henry Nicholls c Alex Lees b Jack Leach 19, so nothing strange there, right?
But how the ball reached Lees makes this dismissal bizarre, and Daryl Mitchell, Nicholls's batting partner, plays a significant role.
WATCH as it all unfolds below:
An unfortunate dismissal? Yes. But wholly within the Laws.Law 184.108.40.206 states it will be out if a fielder catches the ball after it has touched the wicket, an umpire, another fielder, a runner or the other batter.Read the Law: https://t.co/cCBoJd6xOSpic.twitter.com/eKiAWrbZiI— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) June 23, 2022