European Tour

Stone, Fichardt to represent SA at GolfSixes

Brandon Stone (Supplied)
Brandon Stone (Supplied)

Cape Town - Brandon Stone and Darren Fichardt will lead the South African charge at the European Tour's GolfSixes tournament in St Albans, England next week.

The inaugural tournament will see two-man teams from 16 different nations compete over six holes with six different personalities for a prize fund of €1 million (R14m).

SA-born and former England batsman Kevin Pietersen will take part as one of the six celebrities to keep fans at the venue and at home up-to-date with the action.

According to the European Tour website, GolfSixes follows an exciting team-focused match play format over two days, instead of the traditional four-day, 72-hole stroke play.

The teams will play in a Greensomes format, where they will select their best tee shot and then play alternate shots thereafter.

On Saturday, May 6, the teams will be split into four groups of four and the top two teams from each group progress to the knockout stages - the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, a 3rd/4th place playoff match and the final - all of which will be contested on Sunday, May 7.

England's Andy Sullivan and Chris Wood headline the event along with reigning World Cup of Golf champion, Thorbjørn Olesen of Denmark.

The South African team's preparations are already underway, as Rio Olympian, Stone, shared a picture of him and Fichardt on Twitter practicing for the event.

"Nice round with my #GolfSixes partner today. The newest, most innovative event on the @europeantour calendar. We are both beyond excited," wrote Stone.

The GolfSixes teams:

England: Chris Wood, Andy Sullivan
Thailand: Thongchai Jaidee, Kiradech Aphibarnrat
Australia: Sam Brazel, Scott Hend
South Africa: Darren Fichardt, Brandon Stone
Denmark: Thorbjørn Olesen, Lucas Bjerregaard
France: Alexander Levy, Grégory Bourdy
Spain: Pablo Larrazábal, Alejandro Cañizares
Wales: Bradley Dredge, Jamie Donaldson
USA: Paul Peterson, David Lipsky
Netherlands: Joost Luiten, Reinier Saxton
Belgium: Nicolas Colsaerts, Thomas Detry
Sweden: Johan Carlsson, Joakim Lagergren
India: S.S.P Chawrasia, Chikkarangappa S
Portugal: Ricardo Gouveia, José-Filipe Lima
Italy: Matteo Manassero, Renato Paratore
Scotland: Richie Ramsay, Marc Warren

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 9022 votes
11% - 2343 votes
19% - 4120 votes
2% - 531 votes
1% - 191 votes
2% - 501 votes
5% - 1052 votes
9% - 1829 votes
3% - 732 votes
Water sports
1% - 198 votes
American sports
1% - 269 votes
3% - 686 votes