LEADERBOARD | The Open for the Ages - Final round

The Open For The Ages
The Open For The Ages
The Open

The greatest champions of the last 50 years will do battle at St Andrews in the final round of The Open For The Ages.

The 149th Open Championship was scheduled to get underway on 16 July but was cancelled due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

The R&A and Open Championship organisers decided to promote a ground-breaking concept, which will air on Sunday, 19 July.

The Open For The Ages will be broadcasted 'live' and fans can witness many of the greatest ever golfers compete at the iconic Old Course in St Andrews.

This celebratory edition of the Championship is using real archive footage to recreate the drama of an Open final round.

This exclusive edition of The Open features 50 years of archive footage expertly edited and woven together with modern graphics and new commentary to create a Championship contested by the greatest names in golf including Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Seve Ballesteros, Tom Watson, Sir Nick Faldo and Rory McIlroy.

There are THREE South African golfers who are 'competing' in this event: 2010 Open Championship winner Louis Oosthuizen, two-Open Championship winner Ernie Els and three-time Open winner Gary Player.

The winner of The Open For The Ages has been determined by a fan vote, which registered more than 10 000 responses, and a data model developed in partnership with NTT DATA that utilises this fan vote along with player career statistics and historical data from The Open to calculate the Champion.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7779 votes
11% - 1963 votes
19% - 3556 votes
3% - 464 votes
1% - 169 votes
2% - 439 votes
5% - 913 votes
8% - 1537 votes
3% - 611 votes
Water sports
1% - 168 votes
American sports
1% - 217 votes
3% - 570 votes