Rahm hit by bizarre 1-shot penalty at PGA Champs

Jon Rahm (Getty Images)
Jon Rahm (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Jon Rahm was handed an unusual one-shot penalty on the second day of the PGA Championship after his shoe brushed against the ball.

LIVE: 100th PGA Championship - Round 3

Rahm was looking for his ball in the rough on the par five 17th after marshalls had failed to spot where it had landed in the long grass. While searching, his foot made contact with the ball. 

The rules state that an offence has occurred if the player or his caddie causes the ball to move and officials decided that his had happened, despite the Spaniard disagreeing and no advantage being gained.

"I definitely felt I touched it with the top of my foot. I know I touched it. I don't believe I moved it all," Rahm told the official.

"Nobody was marking where the ball was. There's nobody telling me where the ball is."

Rahm still managed to par the hole in his round of 67, as he moved to five under overall - five shots adrift of halfway leader Gary Woodland.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Ireland 23
Georgia 10
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10074 votes
11% - 2706 votes
19% - 4555 votes
2% - 596 votes
1% - 228 votes
2% - 553 votes
5% - 1187 votes
8% - 2000 votes
3% - 814 votes
Water sports
1% - 214 votes
American sports
1% - 298 votes
3% - 776 votes