PGA Tour

McIlroy, Rose named top seeds

Rory McIlroy (File)
Rory McIlroy (File)

Marana - Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson and Zach Johnson were confirmed Sunday as top seeds for the $9 million World Golf Championships Match Play Championship that begins on Wednesday.

Each of them will top a division in the 64-player field whose bracket was announced after ranking positions were set following worldwide golf events.

World number one Tiger Woods, reigning British Open champion Phil Mickelson and reigning Masters champion Adam Scott of Australia are not taking part, opening the door for three players outside the top 64 in the world rankings to move into the lineup.

Sweden's third-ranked Stenson will open against Thailand's Kiradech Aphibarnrat, the lowest ranked player in the field at 67th.

Other top seeds in Stenson's quarter of the draw include Aussie Jason Day and Americans Steve Stricker and Brandt Snedeker.

World number five Rose of England, the reigning US Open champion, will start against 66th-ranked American Scott Piercy.

Other top seeds in Rose's quarter of the bracket include Americans Matt Kuchar, Jordan Spieth and Jason Dufner, last year's PGA Championship winner.

American Johnson, ranked sixth, will open against 65th-ranked Richard Sterne of South Africa.

Other top seeds in Johnson's quarter of the bracket include Americans Dustin Johnson and Bubba Watson, Northern Ireland's Graeme McDowell and Japan's Hideki Matsuyama.

Seventh-ranked McIlroy, from Northern Ireland, will open against 64th-ranked American Boo Weekley.

Other top seeds in McIlroy's quarter include South African Charl Schwartzel, Spain's Sergio Garcia and England's Ian Poulter.

Brackets for the $9 million World Golf Championships Match Play Championship that begins Wednesday (x denotes seed):

Bobby Jones division

Henrik Stenson (SWE x1) v Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA x16)

Louis Oosthuizen (RSA x8) v Nick Watney (USA x9)

Brandt Snedeker (USA x4) v David Lynn (ENG x13)

Webb Simpson (USA x5) v Thongchai Jaidee (THA x12)

Jason Day (AUS x2) v Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

Jamie Donaldson (WAL x7) v Billy Horschel (USA x10)

Steve Stricker (USA x3) v George Coetzee (RSA x14)

Graham DeLaet (CAN x6) v Patrick Reed (USA x11)

Ben Hogan division

Rory McIlroy (NIR x1) v Boo Weekley (USA x16)

Lee Westwood (ENG x8) v Harris English (USA x9)

Charl Schwartzel (RSA x4) v Kevin Stadler (USA x13)

Jim Furyk (USA x5) v Chris Kirk (USA x12)

Sergio Garcia (ESP x2) v Marc Leishman (AUS x15)

Bill Haas (USA x7) v Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP x10)

Ian Poulter (ENG x3) v Rickie Fowler (USA x14)

Jimmy Walker (USA x6) v Branden Grace (RSA x11)

Gary Player division

Justin Rose (ENG x1) v Scott Piercy (USA x16)

Ernie Els (RSA x8) v Stephen Gallacher (SCO x9)

Jason Dufner (USA x4) v Scott Stallings (USA x13)

Luke Donald (ENG x5) v Matteo Manassero (ITA x12)

Matt Kuchar (USA x2) v Bernd Wiesberger (AUT x15)

Ryan Moore (USA x7) v Joost Luiten (NED x10)

Jordan Spieth (USA x3) v Pablo Larrazabal (ESP x14)

Thomas Bjorn (DEN x6) v Francesco Molinari (ITA x11)

Sam Snead division

Zach Johnson (USA x1) v Richard Sterne (RSA x16)

Hunter Mahan (USA x8) v Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP x9)

Graeme McDowell (NIR x4) v Gary Woodland (USA x13)

Hideki Matsuyama (JPN x5) v Martin Kaymer (GER x12)

Dustin Johnson (USA x2) v Peter Hanson (SWE x15)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Having lost the first Test against the British & Irish Lions, can the Springboks recover to win the series?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes, they will win the series 2-1. Go Bokke!
56% - 3846 votes
The Boks will win a Test, but will lose the series 2-1.
27% - 1823 votes
It's not looking good. A 3-0 whitewash is on the cards.
17% - 1166 votes