PGA Tour

SA's Garrick Higgo nominated for PGA Tour Rookie of the Year award

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
South African golfer Garrick Higgo (Getty Images)
South African golfer Garrick Higgo (Getty Images)
Andrew Redington/Getty Images

After a stellar season, South African golfer Garrick Higgo has been nominated for the PGA Tour Rookie of the Year award.

Following Sunday's conclusion of the Tour Championship and the FedExCup playoffs, nominees for PGA Tour Player of the Year (Jack Nicklaus Award) and PGA Tour Rookie of the Year (Arnold Palmer Award) were finalised on Tuesday.

The nominees for the Jack Nicklaus Award as the PGA Tour Player of the Year are Patrick Cantlay, Bryson DeChambeau, Harris English, Collin Morikawa and Jon Rahm.

Higgo was nominated alongside American Will Zalatoris for the Rookie of the Year award.

A player's rookie season is defined as the season in which he becomes a PGA Tour member (including Special Temporary Members) and plays in 10 or more events as a member or finishes in the Top 125 on the Official FedExCup Points List or qualifies as a Top 125 Non-member, whichever occurs first.

Higgo's achievements over the year have been phenomenal, claiming two European Tour titles in three weeks and going on to clinch his maiden PGA Tour title in May. 

The 22-year-old turned heads as he came from behind to win the Palmetto Championship title at Congaree in only his second PGA Tour start and earn his card.

The Stellenbosch golfer became the first player to win in one of his first two career PGA Tour starts since Jim Benepe won the 1988 BMW Championship in his Tour debut.

Higgo appeared in three of this year's four Majors with a best finish of T64 at the PGA Championship on debut. 

He then joined fellow compatriot Christiaan Bezuidenhout in Team SA's squad for the Tokyo Olympics. Higgo finished T53 on even-par at the Kasumigaseki Country Club in Tokyo.

Meanwhile, the PGA Tour's Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year awards are determined by a member vote, with PGA Tour members, who played in at least 15 official FedExCup events during the 2020-21 season, eligible to vote.

The voting will close on Friday (23:00 SA time) with the winners announced at a later date.

Higgo is in Surrey for the European Tour's BMW PGA Championship at Wentworth Golf Club and will tee off on Thursday at 09:55 SA time.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Leicester City 1
Napoli 0
Voting Booth
The Springboks return to Rugby Championship action to take on the Wallabies this weekend. How will they fare?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Boks to win by plenty
17% - 1566 votes
The Boks will win, but it'll be tight
55% - 5186 votes
I reckon the Wallabies at home will get the win
20% - 1935 votes
It's too close to call!
8% - 788 votes