Sunshine Tour

Fisher confirmed for Sun City

Ross Fisher (Gallo Images)
Ross Fisher (Gallo Images)

Sun City - Sunshine Tour Order of Merit winner England's Ross Fisher is the latest player to have confirmed his place at this year's Nedbank Golf Challenge, tournament director Alastair Roper said on Tuesday.

Fisher is no stranger to South African conditions. Following a third place tie at the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek in November last year, and a tenth place tie at the Joburg Open in February, his win at the Tshwane Open a couple of weeks later took him to the top of the Sunshine Tour money list for 2014.

He has also made two previous appearances at the Sun City event, finishing third in 2009 and fifth in 2010.

Also confirmed in the line up for the $6.5 million (approx R71.5m) tournament are members of the victorious European Ryder Cup team as well as two Major winners and three former world number ones.

They will tee it up at the Gary Player Golf Course from December 4-7 in the event co-sanctioned by the European Tour and the Sunshine Tour.

The European Ryder Cup stars include Thomas Bjorn, Martin Kaymer, Victor Dubuisson, Jamie Donaldson, Stephen Gallacher and Lee Westwood.

Spain’s Miguel Angel Jiminez, who was a vice-captain on the team, is also in the field.

Bjorn is back to defend the title he won in spectacular fashion last year, claiming a two-stroke victory at the age of 42.

Westwood is making his 10th appearance at the Sun City event and returns as a back-to-back winner of “Africa’s Major” in 2010 and 2011.

Kaymer is hoping to add to his 2012 triumph in the Nedbank Golf Challenge, and the 2014 US Open champion and former world number one is joined by other former world number ones in Westwood and Luke Donald.

Charl Schwartzel, the 2011 Masters champion, leads the South Africans in the group, which includes 2013 Sunshine Tour Order of Merit winner Dawie van der Walt.

Thai golf legend Thongchai Jaidee will be joined in the field by his younger counterpart Kiradech Aphibarnrat, who qualified by virtue of his first-place finish on the 2013 Asian Tour Order of Merit.

Confirmed players: Thomas Bjorn (Denmark), Martin Kaymer (Germany), Lee Westwood (England), Charl Schwartzel (South Africa), Victor Dubuisson (France), Jamie Donaldson (Wales), Stephen Gallacher (Scotland), Dawie van der Walt (South Africa), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand), Luke Donald (England), Miguel Angel Jiminez (Spain), Ross Fisher (England) and Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand).

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
40% - 13466 votes
12% - 4122 votes
19% - 6217 votes
3% - 855 votes
1% - 328 votes
2% - 777 votes
5% - 1679 votes
8% - 2813 votes
4% - 1172 votes
Water sports
1% - 304 votes
American sports
1% - 414 votes
3% - 1115 votes