Al-Attiyah adds another Dakar stage win as Peterhansel keeps lead

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Nasser al-Attiyah
Nasser al-Attiyah

Qatari driver Nasser Al-Attiyah won stage eight of the Dakar Rally on Monday, covering the 375 kilometres of the timed special between Sakaka and Neom in Saudi Arabia in just under three hours.

Three-time champion Al-Attiyah has now won four of eight stages of this year's edition as well as the prologue but still trails Frenchman Stephane Peterhansel by 4min 50sec.

Last year's winner Carlos Sainz finished 52sec behind Al-Attiyah along the Red Sea coastline, with Peterhansel third as he stayed on course to capture a record-extending 14th Dakar title.

Sainz is third overall at 38min 55sec ahead of Tuesday's ninth stage, a 579km loop on sandy tracks around Neom that is expected to be one of the toughest of the rally.

Chile's Jose Ignacio Cornejo extended his advantage in the motorbike category with his first stage victory of the event.

Cornejo gained over a minute on nearest rival Toby Price, having led by just one second on Sunday.

American Ricky Brabec, winner of the 2020 rally, was almost three minutes adrift in third.

French rider Xavier de Soultrait withdrew from the competition following a heavy crash on stage eight. He was taken to hospital in Tabuk for observation and had been fourth overall at the time.

De Soultrait was considered among the favourites and had briefly occupied first place last week following stage four.

Britain's Sam Sunderland is third overall, 5min 57sec off the pace after crossing fourth in Monday's special, with Brabec in sixth at 17min 42sec.

Dakar Rally results after Monday's eighth stage:


1. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) 2hrs 56mins 56sec, 2. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Mini) at 52sec, 3. Stephane Peterhansel/Edouard Boulanger (FRA/FRA/Mini) 3:03, 4. Sheikh Khalid Al Qassimi/Xavier Panseri (UAE/FRA/Peugeot) 12:44, 5. Cyril Despres/Michael Horn (FRA/SUI/Peugeot) 12:49, 6. Jakub Przygonski/Timo Gottschalk (POL/GER/Toyota) 18:23, 7. Shameer Variawa/Dennis Murphy (RSA/RSA/Toyota) 18:51, 8. Vladimir Vasilyev/Dmitro Tsyro (RUS/UKR/Mini) 19:05, 9. Martin Prokop/Viktor Chytka (CZE/CZE/Ford) 21:37, 10. Christian Lavieille/Jean-Pierre Garcin (FRA/FRA/Optimus) 22:06.


1. Jose Ignacio Cornejo Florimo (CHI/Honda) 3hrs 8mins 40sec, 2. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) at 1min 05sec, 3. Ricky Brabec (USA/Honda) 2:50. 4. Sam Sunderland (GBR/Ktm) 3:46, 5. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 5:29, 6. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 5:47, 7. Daniel Sanders (AUS/Ktm) 6:29, 8. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 6:32, 9. Skyler Howes (USA/Ktm) 6:53, 10. Sebastian Bhler (GER/Hero) 7:58.

Overall cars

1. Stephane Peterhansel/Edouard Boulanger (FRA/FRA/Mini) 29hrs 36mins 49sec (1min penalty), 2. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) at 4mins 50sec, 3. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Mini) 38:55, 4. Jakub Przygonski/Timo Gottschalk (POL/GER/Toyota) 1hrs 38mins 08sec. (2min penalty), 5. Nani Roma/Alexandre Winocq (ESP/FRA/Brx) 2.19:59, 6. Vladimir Vasilyev/Dmitro Tsyro (RUS/UKR/Mini) 2.42:00 (1min penalty), 7. Sheikh Khalid Al Qassimi/Xavier Panseri (UAE/FRA/Peugeot) 2.45:33 (5min penalty), 8. Martin Prokop/Viktor Chytka (CZE/CZE/Ford) 3.18:24 (1min penalty), 9. Giniel De Villiers/Alex Haro Bravo (RSA/ESP/Toyota) 3.26:50 (21min penalty), 10. Christian Lavieille/Jean-Pierre Garcin (FRA/FRA/Optimus) 3.41:57.

Overall motorbikes

1. Jose Ignacio Cornejo Florimo (CHI/Honda) 32hrs 00min 11sec, 2. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) at 1min 06sec, 3. Sam Sunderland (GBR/Ktm) 5:57, 4. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 12:58 (2min penalty), 5.Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 16:05, 6.Ricky Brabec (USA/Honda) 17:42, 7. Skyler Howes (USA/Ktm) 19:20 (6min penalty), 8. Daniel Sanders (AUS/Ktm) 22:40 (7min penalty), 9. Lorenzo Santolino (ESP/Sherco Factory) 26:59, 10.Luciano Benavides (ARG/Husqvarna) 33:26 (1min penalty)


We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Fulham 1
Manchester United 1
loading... Live
Bangladesh 64/2
West Indies 122/10
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 11367 votes
12% - 3268 votes
19% - 5116 votes
2% - 683 votes
1% - 268 votes
2% - 636 votes
5% - 1405 votes
8% - 2326 votes
3% - 919 votes
Water sports
1% - 244 votes
American sports
1% - 333 votes
3% - 893 votes