Morbidelli wins San Marino MotoGP, SA's Binder 12th

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Brad Binder (Red Bull Content Pool)
Brad Binder (Red Bull Content Pool)

Franco Morbidelli won the San Marino MotoGP on Sunday as Andrea Dovizioso took the championship lead from Fabio Quartararo who crashed out of the race.

Italian Morbidelli's victory at Misano Adriatico ahead of countryman Francesco Bagnaia and Suzuki's Spanish rider Joan Mir was his first ever win in motorcycling's elite class.

South Africa's Brad Binder finished in 12th.

"I don't know how it feels, I still have to process everything," Morbidelli told BT Sport.

"It's a good thing, a good feeling. I'm very happy, I'm enjoying the moment now. The only thing I can say is thanks to my team, to my people, all the people that have been working with me."

Yamaha SRT's Morbidelli took control on the first lap and never relinquished his lead, finishing over two second ahead of Bagnaia on a great day for Italian riders in front of a limited crowd on home soil.

Fellow Italian Dovizioso is six points ahead of Frenchman Quartararo, who first came off the track on lap eight to allow the Italian to take the overall lead and then came off again later in the race when already well off the pace.

The only negative for the home crowd was Valentino Rossi failing to grab his 200th MotoGP podium after he was overtaken by Mir on the final lap to finish in fourth.

Collated results from the San Marino motorcycling Grand Prix at Misano Adriatico on Sunday:


1. Franco Morbidelli (ITA/Yamaha-SRT) 42min 02.272sec, 2. Francesco Bagnaia (ITA/Ducati-Pramac) at 2.217sec, 3. Joan Mir (ESP/Suzuki) 2.290, 4. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 2.643, 5. Alex Rins (ESP/Suzuki) 4.044, 6. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha) 5.383, 7. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 10.358, 8. Jack Miller (AUS/Ducati-Pramac) 11.155, 9. Takaaki Nakagami (JPN/Honda-LCR) 10.839, 10. Pol Espargaro (ESP/KTM) 12.030

Championship standings after six races

1. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 76, 2. Fabio Quartararo (FRA/Yamaha-SRT) 70 points, 3. Jack Miller (AUS/Ducati-Pramac) 64, 4. Joan Mir (ESP/Suzuki): 60, 5. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha) 58, 6. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 58, 7. Franco Morbidelli (ITA/Yamaha-SRT) 57, 8. Brad Binder (RSA/KTM) 53, 9. Takaaki Nakagami 53, 10. Miguel Oliveira (POR/KTM) 48


1. Luca Marini (ITA/Kalex) 40mins 41.774sec, 2. Marco Bezzecchi (ITA/Kalex) at 0.799, 3. Enea Bastianini (ITA/Kalex) 0.897, 4. Xavi Vierge (ESP/Kalex) 2.177, 5. Augusto Fernandez (ESP/Kalex) 8.307

Championship standings (after seven races):  

1. Luca Marini (ITA/Sky Racing) 112 points, 2. Enea Bastianini (ITA/Italtrans) 95, 3. Marco Bezzecchi (ITA/Sky Racing) 85, 4. Jorge Martin (ESP/KTM Ajo) 79, 4. Tetsuta Nagashima (JPN/KTM Ajo) 68


1. John McPhee (GBR/Honda) 39mins 48.952sec, 2. Ai Ogura (JPN/Honda) at 0.037, 3. Tatsuki Suzuki (JPN/Honda) 0.232, 4. Jeremy Alcoa (ESP/Honda) 0.303, 5. Gabriel Rodrigo (ARG/Honda) 0.490

Championship standings (after seven races):

1. Albert Arenas (ESP/KTM) 106 points, 2. Ai Ogura (JPN/Honda) 101, 3. John McPhee (GBR/Honda) 92, 4. Tatsuki Suzuki (JPN/Honda) 75, 5. Tony Arbolino (ITA/Honda) 70

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 13371 votes
12% - 4071 votes
19% - 6154 votes
3% - 847 votes
1% - 325 votes
2% - 774 votes
5% - 1667 votes
8% - 2790 votes
4% - 1161 votes
Water sports
1% - 302 votes
American sports
1% - 409 votes
3% - 1108 votes