SA's Stephen Mokoka wins Cape Town Marathon, Lydia Simiyu makes history

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
South Africa's Stephen Mokoka
South Africa's Stephen Mokoka

South Africa's Stephen Mokoka produced another brilliant race to win the Cape Town Marathon for the second time on Sunday.

Mokoka crossed the finish line in a time of 2:10.01 to win his second race from two starts - winning back in 2018.

Ethiopia's Gebru Redagne took second place as he finished in 2:10.17 with Lesotho's Tebello Ramakongoana third with a time of 2:10.24.

"Winning or running a fast time in a marathon is always a blessing, so I'm happy with the way the race unfolded," said Mokoka, who overcame the wet conditions to win the race for the second time in his career.

"I knew we could run faster, but the rain made it difficult and I was glad to be able to run hard over the last two kilometres.

"Seeing thousands of runners in the field today was awesome. I'm glad we're able to race in South Africa again and I'm grateful for the opportunity."

In the women's race, Kenya's Lydia Simiyu earned the biggest paycheck of her career as she won in a blistering time of 2:25..44.

Simiyu, who was making her debut at the marathon, set a new course record and secured the fastest women's marathon on South African soil. 

Second place was awarded to Simiyu's fellow compatriot Lucy Karimi in 2:25.53, while Ethiopia's Aynalem Teferi took third (2:26.09).

South African Gerda Steyn led for much of the race but had to settle for fourth in 2:26.22 - her time was the second-fastest marathon finish for the Olympian.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5438 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 932 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2795 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4652 votes