Britain's Geoghegan Hart wins Giro d'Italia

Geoghegan Hart (Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images,)
Geoghegan Hart (Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images,)

Britain's Tao Geoghegan Hart of Team Ineos won cycling's Giro d'Italia on Sunday ahead of Australian rival Jai Hindley after the final stage race against the clock.

Geoghegan Hart had been on the same time as Hindley going into the final 21st stage but finished 38seconds ahead of the Team Sunweb rider.

"It's going to take a long time to sink in," said the Londoner.

"He kept giving me a few seconds and I knew not to take any risks."

"It feels incredible to arrive here in front of the Duomo," Geoghegan Hart said.

World champion Filippo Ganna of Italy was first in the 15.7km time-trial which finished in front of Milan's Duomo Cathedral.

Geoghegan Hart won Saturday's 20th stage, edging Hindley, with for the first time in a Grand Tour two riders going head-to-head for the title in the final time-trial.

But the suspense did not last until the line with Hindley, wearing the pink jersey, dropping 22 seconds at the intermediary stage after 10.3km.

The 24-year-old nevertheless becomes the first Australian on the Giro Podium.

Geoghegan Hart, 25, is the second British rider to win the race around Italy, two years after Chris Froome.

Neither rider had been their team leader when the race got underway in Sicily three weeks ago. Ineos lost Geraint Thomas to a broken pelvis in stage four.

The victory was a boost for Ineos who had a disappointing Tour de France with defending champion Egan Bernal's withdrawal, while Ecuadorian Richard Carapaz did not defend his Giro d'Italia title but competed in the Vuelta a Espana.



1. Filippo Ganna (ITA/Ineos) 17min 16sec (average: 54.556 km/h), 2. Victor Campenaerts (BEL/LOT) at 32sec, 3. Rohan Dennis (AUS/INE) 32, 4. Joao Almeida (POR/DEC) 41, 5. Miles Scotson (AUS/FDJ) 41, 6. Josef Cerny (CZE/CCC) 44, 7. Chad Haga (USA/SUN) 44, 8. Brandon McNulty (USA/UAE) 46, 9. Kamil Gradek (POL/CCC) 47, 10. Jan Tratnik (SLO/BAH) 47, 11. Wilco Kelderman (NED/SUN) 55.


13. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR/INE) 58, 38. Jai Hindley (AUS/SUN) 1:37.

Final overall standings

1. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR/Ineos) 85hr 40min 21sec, 2. Jai Hindley (AUS/SUN) at 39sec, 3. Wilco Kelderman (NED/SUN) 1:29, 4. Joao Almeida (POR/DEC) 2:57, 5. Pello Bilbao (ESP/BAH) 3:09, 6. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN/AST) 7:02, 7. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA/TRE) 8:15, 8. Patrick Konrad (AUT/BOR) 8:42, 9. Fausto Masnada (ITA/DEC) 9:57, 10. Hermann Pernsteiner (AUT/BAH) 11:05.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 9963 votes
11% - 2671 votes
19% - 4504 votes
2% - 590 votes
1% - 223 votes
2% - 550 votes
5% - 1175 votes
8% - 1990 votes
3% - 804 votes
Water sports
1% - 212 votes
American sports
1% - 296 votes
3% - 763 votes