2018 Vuelta route set to favour climbers

British cyclist Chris Froome has won the Tour of Andalucia. (AFP)
British cyclist Chris Froome has won the Tour of Andalucia. (AFP)

Madrid - This year's Vuelta a Espana is set to be decided in the mountains with nine summit finishes included in the route unveiled on Saturday.

The race will start with an 8km individual time-trial in the southern port city of Malaga on August 25 and will spend eight days in the south of Spain before journeying through the mountainous terrain close to the Atlantic coast and heading into the Pyrenees for a decisive final stretch.

It will conclude in the capital Madrid on Sunday, September 16.

"We want the mountains to be key in deciding the Vuelta," said Vuelta director Javier Guillen.

Last year's race was won by Chris Froome, as he became just the third rider in history to win the Vuelta a Espana and Tour de France in the same year.

But it was revealed last month that Froome - the first British winner of the race - had given an adverse doping test during the Vuelta.

He was found to have twice the permissible amount of asthma medication Salbutamol in his system and could yet be stripped of his title.

If the 32-year-old does take part, he will see summit finishes at Les Praeres in Asturias and at Balcon de Bizkaia in the Basque Country for the first time in the history of the race.

The Vuelta will also return to Lagos de Covadonga in the Picos de Europa, where Colombian Nairo Quintana took the leader's red jersey in 2016 before holding it all the way to the end.

After the first stage, the only other time-trial will be on the 16th stage, 32.7km from Santillana del Mar to Torrelavega.

That could be seen as a measure taken to prevent a rider like Froome wrapping up overall victory early on, although Froome won the only individual time-trial last year having done likewise in 2016.

The overall winner may not be decided until the penultimate stage in Andorra, before riders head to Madrid for the traditional finish.

The route for the 2018 Vuelta a Espana was unveiled on Saturday in Malaga, where this year's race will begin on August 25:

August 25: 1st stage Malaga - Malaga, 8km individual time-trial

August 26: 2nd stage Marbella - Caminito del Rey, 163.9km

August 27: 3rd stage Mijas - Alhaurin de la Torre, 182.5km

August 28: 4th stage Velez-Malaga - Alfacar, 162km

August 29: 5th stage Granada - Roquetas de Mar, 188km

August 30: 6th stage Huercal-Overa - San Javier, 153km

August 31: 7th stage Puerto Lumbreras - Pozo Alcon, 182km

September 1: 8th stage Linares - Almaden, 195.5km

September 2: 9th stage Talavera de la Reina - La Covatilla, 195km

September 3: Rest day

September 4: 10th stage Salamanca - Fermoselle, Bermillo de Sayago, 172.5km

September 5: 11th stage Mombuey - Luintra, 208.8km

September 6: 12th stage Mondonedo - Faro de Estaca de Bares, Manon, 177.5km

September 7: 13th stage Candas - La Camperona, 175.5km

September 8: 14th stage Cistierna - Nava, 167km

September 9: 15th stage Ribera de Arriba - Lagos de Covadonga, 185.5km

September 10: Rest day

September 11: 16th stage Santillana del Mar - Torrelavega, 32.7km (individual time-trial)

September 12: 17th stage Getxo - Balcon de Bizkaia, 166.4km

September 13: 18th stage Ejea de los Caballeros - Lleida, 180.5 km

September 14: 19th stage Lleida - Andorra (Naturlandia), 157km

September 15: 20th stage Escaldes-Engordany (Andorra) - Col de la Gallina, 105.8km

September 16: 21st stage Alcorcon - Madrid, 112km

loading... Live
Reds 7
Rebels 3
loading... Live
Reds 7
Rebels 3
loading... Live
England 0
Pakistan 223/9 (86 ov)
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5993 votes
11% - 1493 votes
19% - 2582 votes
2% - 316 votes
1% - 127 votes
2% - 308 votes
5% - 668 votes
8% - 1115 votes
3% - 424 votes
Water sports
1% - 123 votes
American sports
1% - 134 votes
3% - 398 votes