Ulissi outsprints local hero

Diego Ulissi (AFP)
Diego Ulissi (AFP)

Adelaide - Lampre-Merida rider Diego Ulissi staved off the challenge from local favourite Simon Gerrans to claim the second stage of the Tour Down Under on Wednesday.

Gerrans retained the leader's jersey but Ilissi could not be denied his seventh professional career victory which put the 24-year-old Italian in second place, seven seconds behind the Australian.

"I've never believed in my chances to win this stage because I had the impression that Simon Gerrans was by far the strongest," said Ulissi, who crossed the 150 kilometre stage through the Adelaide Hillsline in three hours 52 minutes and 15 seconds.

"I thought he'd be unbeatable but I managed to beat him thanks to the help of the great team I have behind me."

Australian road champion Gerrans closed on Ulissi but could not overtake the Italian.

Far from being upset, the Orica-GreenEdge rider was focussing on Thursday's race featuring the notorious Corkscrew Hill climb shortly before the finish in Campbelltown.

"It was close but I can't win them all," said Gerrans.

"He's (Ulissi) a classy rider. But I wasn't expecting he'd pass me as fast as he did.

"... it's a good result for me today as I have a bigger advantage over my other rivals with the time bonus of the second place.

"Tomorrow is going to be the most decisive stage with the Corkscrew climb so close to the finish."

Cadel Evans' third place on the stage helped the 2011 Tour de France champion jump from ninth overall to fourth, 13 seconds off the lead.

"I went too early, and got swamped at the finish," said the BMC rider Evans.

"I hope to get it right in the next few days, I didn't have the legs and timing to do it today."

Results after the 150-kilometre (93-mile) second stage of the Tour Down Under from Prospect to Stirling in South Australia on Wednesday.

1. Diego Ulissi (ITA/Lampre-Merida) 3hr 52min 14 sec

2. Simon Gerrans (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) same time

3. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC Racing) s.t.

4. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/Astana) s.t.

5. Robert Gesink (BEL/Belkin) s.t.

6. Richie Porte (AUS/Team Sky) s.t.

7. Ben Hermans (BEL/BMC Racing) s.t.

8. Fabio Felline (ITA/Trek Factory Racing) s.t.

9. Javier Morena (ESP/Movistar) s.t.

10. Daryl Impey (RSA/Orica GreenEdge) s.t.


2. Andre Greipel (GER/Lotto-Belisol) s.t.

29. Frank Schleck (LUX/Trek Factory Racing) s.t.

70. Geraint Thomas (GBR/Team Sky) s.t.

General classification

1. Simon Gerrans (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) 7hr 12min 31sec

2. Diego Ulissi (ITA/Lampre-Merida) at 7 seconds

3. Andre Greipel (GER/Lotto-Belisol) +11

4. Cadel Evans (AUS/BMC Racing) +13

5. Steele Von Hoff (AUS/Garmin-Sharpe) s.t.

6. Simon Geschke (GER/Giant-Shimano) +16

7. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/Astana) +17

8. Robert Gesink (BEL/Belkin) s.t.

9. Maxime Bouet (FRA/AG2R La Mondiale) s.t.

10. Geraint Thomas (GBR/Team Sky) s.t.


16. Richie Porte (AUS/Team Sky) +21

20. Frank Schleck (LUX/Trek Factory Racing) s.t.

38. Javier Moreno (ESP/Movistar) s.t.

King of the Mountain

1. Adam Hansen (AUS/Lotto-Belisol) 20 points

2. William Clarke (AUS/Drapac) 20 points

3. Axel Domont (FRA/AG2R La Mondiale) 12 points


1. Simon Gerrans (AUS/Orica GreenEdge) 31 points

2. Diego Ulissi (ITA/Lampre-Merida) 27 points

3. Francesco Gavazzi (ITA/Astana) 22 points

loading... Live
Baroka FC 0
Bloemfontein Celtic 0
loading... Live
England 219 & 55/1 (22.1 ov, target 277)
Pakistan 326 & 169
loading... Live
England 219 & 55/1 (22.1 ov, target 277)
Pakistan 326 & 169
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5721 votes
11% - 1417 votes
19% - 2406 votes
2% - 294 votes
1% - 113 votes
2% - 291 votes
5% - 631 votes
8% - 1017 votes
3% - 404 votes
Water sports
1% - 111 votes
American sports
1% - 125 votes
3% - 365 votes