Buys claims podium finish

Philip Buys (Gallo images)
Philip Buys (Gallo images)

Cape Town - A South African stood on top of the Absa Cape Epic podium for the first time in two years on Thursday when Philip Buys and his Swiss partner and cross country world champion Nino Schurter (Scott-Odlo) swept home on stage four of the iconic cycling race.

Both Buys and Schurter are known for their technical skills, so Thursday’s 88km stage - a loop which started and finished in Greyton and contained many singletrack sections - suited the pair.

There was considerable drama in the field behind them, the biggest being the withdrawal of four-times winner Karl Platt.

Platt had damaged a knee in a fall on Tuesday and started Thursday’s stage, but could not pedal properly and had to withdraw, leaving his partner Urs Huber (Team Bulls) to ride on alone and out of the race.

There was also bad news for Cherise Stander, the top South African contender in the mixed category with Theo Blignaut (RECM mixed), who withdrew about 30km into the stage with breathing problems while lying second overall.

There was a significant turnaround in the women’s race when leader Esther Suss’s back shock absorber stopped working soon after the start, forcing her to ride in an awkward position which negated her power.

The Swiss rider and English partner Sally Bigham (Meerendal) lost 12 minutes on the day and slipped to second behind a charging Ariane Kleinhans, from Switzerland, and Dane Annike Langvad (RECM2).

For the first time since the race began on Sunday, the leading men’s team retained the yellow jersey, as Topeak-Ergon’s Robert Mennen (Germany) and Kristian Hynek (Czech Republic) finished third on the stage but still have a lead of nearly 12 minutes.

Thursday's second place finishers was the German pair of Markus Kaufmann and Jochen Kaess (Centurion-Vaude), but they remain outside the top 10 overall after a bad day on Tuesday when Kaufmann broke the frame of his bike.

Second overall after finishing fifth on Thursday were four-times winner Swiss Christoph Sauser and Czech Frantisek Rabon in spite of the former breaking a chain and crashing during the stage.

The last South African to win a stage of the Epic was Burry Stander in 2012. He was riding with Sauser.



1 Nino Schurter and Philip Buys (Scott-Odlo) 3:46.04,9; 2 Markus Kaufmann and Jochen Kaess (Centurion-Vaude) 3:47.31,7; 3 Robert Mennen and Kristian Hynek (Topeak-Ergon) 3:47.46,6.


1 Mennen and Hynek 18:44.28,4; 2 Christoph Sauser and Frantisek Rabon (Meerendal Songo Specialized) 18:56.15,9; 3 Tim Boehme and Simon Stiebjahn (Bulls 2) 18:58.14,9.


1 Ariane Kleinhans and Annike Langvad (RECM 2) 4:13.08,4; 2 Esther Suss and Sally Bigham (Meerendal) 4:25.42,0; 3 Jennie Stenerhag and Theresa Ralph (Cape Brewing Company) 4:36.52,5.

Overall: 1 Kleinhans and Langvad 21:39.50,2; 2 Suss and Bigham 21:41.01,3; 3 Stenerhag and Ralph 22:43.34,9.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7769 votes
11% - 1963 votes
19% - 3548 votes
3% - 463 votes
1% - 169 votes
2% - 439 votes
5% - 911 votes
8% - 1535 votes
3% - 611 votes
Water sports
1% - 168 votes
American sports
1% - 217 votes
3% - 570 votes