SA Test commentary: Like Proteas, in tricky 'transition'

Share your Subscriber Article
You have 5 articles to share every month. Send this story to a friend!
play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Makhaya Ntini (Gallo)
Makhaya Ntini (Gallo)

Although he had become conspicuously less active for some three years anyway due to failing-health challenges, the Christmas Day death of Robin Jackman was a reminder of how increasingly more callow SuperSport has become in English-language Test commentary terms.

The veteran, generally very popular, widely-travelled and professional, "Jackers" being nudged toward the sidelines was gradually followed by the disappearance of similarly once-staple voices behind the microphone like Kepler Wessels and Mike Haysman... both now overwhelmingly based outside South Africa.

That pair, however people felt about their commentary styles and proficiency (it'll always be a subjective thing, the world over), brought a usefully cosmopolitan and educated sense to their SuperSport work because of their advanced insights into, for example, both the SA and Australian games.

Support independent journalism
Subscribe to News24 for just R75 per month to read all our investigative and in-depth journalism. You can cancel any time.
Already a subscriber? Sign in
loading... Live
Leeds United 0
Newcastle United 0
loading... Live
Manchester United 0
West Ham United 0
loading... Live
Brentford 0
Wolverhampton Wanderers 0
loading... Live
Bulls 0
Stormers 11
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 6461 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
6% - 1022 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 3512 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 5520 votes