Nominations for gsport awards open

South Africa’s women athletes have been representing the country with pride around the world over the past year and it is time to honour them at South Africa’s only awards dedicated to women’s sport.

Public nominations have opened for the 8th Annual SPAR gsport Awards, which lauds South African women athletes, and the many valuable contributions made to raise the profile of the game.

The month-long nominations process will see the public nominate their top candidates across eight categories.

Nominations can be made via the gsport website ( or via gsport’s social media channels, and

gsport Founder Kass Naidoo said: “We are excited to have SPAR on board for the second year running as title sponsor. Every year since 2006, gsport has celebrated outstanding contributions to raise the profile of women’s sport in South Africa. It is exciting to see which stars will grab gsport honours this year.

“We are proud to be involved in this prestigious event and in particular celebrating women’s achievements in sport,” said Belinda Nel, Sponsorship Manager SPAR.

On the Awards activation, Naidoo was positive that 2013 would see greater involvement.

“The key to the success of last year’s public nominations process, which unearthed outstanding candidates from around the country, was the input of our Awards ambassadors, and we are delighted to once again have their support.”

The 2013 SPAR gsport Awards ambassadors, who will lead the call to encourage greater public participation in the nominations process are MTV VJ Roxy Burger, 94.7 Drive time host, Anele Mdoda, SABC Sport presenter Mpho Maboi, model and businesswoman, Shashi Naidoo, media all-rounder Hulisani Ravele, and TV & radio personality Liezel van der Westhuizen.

The nominations process will be overseen by gsport’s elite judging panel, which includes 2007 gsport Hall of Fame winner Hazel Gumede, veteran woman in media Jane Bramley, world leader in visual performance Dr. Sherylle Calder and businesswoman Uyanda Mbuli.


• Nominations Open: 8am, Wednesday 11 September
• Nominations Close: 12noon, Wednesday 9 October
• (Closed Session: Judges decide on Award category finalists)
• Public voting at Wednesday, October 30 to Wednesday, November 13
• Winners Unveiled: At SPAR gsport Awards, Wednesday, November 20

Official HashTag: #SPARgsportAwards

Nominations can be submitted at:

• gsport website:
• Email:
• Twitter:
• Facebook:

The 2013 SPAR gsport Awards for which public nominations are being sought are:

• The 2013 SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year
• The 2013 gsport Athlete of the Year with a Disability
• The 2013 gsport Up & Coming Athlete of the Year
• The 2013 gsport Woman of the Year Award
• The 2013 gsport Woman in Media Award
• The 2013 gsport Style Star Award
• The 2013 gsport Coach of the Year; and
• The 2013 gsport Volunteer of the Year

gsport requires the following information:

• Name of the person submitting the nomination
• Contact details of the person submitting the nomination
• Name of the person being nominated
• The 2013 SPAR gsport Awards category the person is being nominated in
• Contact details of the person being nominated (if known); and
• A few compelling reasons why the person being nominated should be considered for an Award


gsport was founded in 2006 to raise the profile of South African women in sport.
Voting is free and open to anyone at the website (no registration req).
The winner in each voting category will be unveiled at the annual Awards ceremony, held at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg, on November 20.
More information: please contact Kass Naidoo 083 923 9746 or
Photo requests: please contact Ryk Meiring 082 777 7870 or

2012 SPAR gsport Awards Winners (in Awards event order):

• Volunteer of the Year: Anela Mahamba
• Sports Federation of the Year: SA Hockey Association
• Sponsor of the Year: SASOL
• SPAR Recognition Award: Bruce Davidson
• Style Star of the Year: Lalla Hirayama
• Coach of the Year: Elize Kotze
• Woman in Media: Tarryn Steenekamp
• Woman of the Year: Venessa Clack
• Up and Coming Athlete of the Year: Thato Makhafola
• Athlete of the Year with a Disability: Natalie du Toit
• SPAR Athlete of the Year: Caster Semenya
• gsport Hall of Fame Inductee: Muditambi Ravele

Winners at last year's 2012 SPAR gsport Awards were (from left) Personal Account Writer Award winner, Chervon Chetty; 2012 SPAR Athlete of the Year winner, Caster Semenya; 2012 Style Star winner, Lalla Hirayama; inaugural SPAR Recognition Award recipient, Bruce Davidson; 2012 Coach of the Year, Elize Kotze; 2012 Woman of the Year winner, Venessa Clack; 2012 Up and Coming Athlete Award winner, Thato Makhafola; inaugural gsport Hall of Famer, Penny Heyns; 2012 Volunteer of the Year Award winner; Anela Mahamba; 2012 Woman in Media, Tarryn Steenekamp; 2012 Hall of Fame inductee; Muditambi Ravele;  2012 Athlete of the Year with a Disability, Natalie du Toit; 2012 Sponsor of the Year, SASOL representative Dumisani Mbokane, and Sports Federation of the Year winner, SA Hockey Association CEO, Marissa Langeni, pictured at the Wanderers Club, in Illovo, Johannesburg. (Reg Caldecott)
We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 8779 votes
11% - 2238 votes
19% - 4017 votes
2% - 514 votes
1% - 186 votes
2% - 485 votes
5% - 1024 votes
8% - 1768 votes
3% - 713 votes
Water sports
1% - 195 votes
American sports
1% - 259 votes
3% - 654 votes