Van der Burgh, Crous turn up tempo

Cameron van der Burgh (Gallo Images)
Cameron van der Burgh (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cameron van der Burgh and Jarred Crous turned up the tempo as they posted thrilling finishes and recorded Olympic Qualifying Times on the fifth day of the at the Kings Park Aquatics Centre in Durban.

According to, Van der Burgh was quick off the block and confirmed his Olympic Qualification time in the 200m breaststroke with a golden 2:10.13, while 19 year old Crous was over the moon with his first qualification time of the competition and the silver medal, clocking 2:11.65, just 0.01secs under the required 2:11.66. Ayrton Sweeney won the bronze in 2:14.36.

Christopher Reid just missed out on adding the 200m backstroke to his list of Olympic Qualifying times when he raced to a 1:58.31 in tonight’s semifinals, just 0.09secs of the required 1:58.22. Reid will be looking to better that performance in tomorrow’s final.

In the 200m breaststroke semifinals, Tatjana Schoenmaker, Franko Jonker and Kaylene Corbett swam the fastest to qualify for tomorrow evening’s final in 2:27.48, 2:28.70 and 2:32.29, while on the men’s side, Sebastien Rousseau, Neil Fair and Dylan Bosch topped the 200m individual medley semifinals in 2:01.21, 2:04.02 and 2:04.31, respectively.

Erin Gallagher and Karin Prinsloo finished first and second the 100m freestyle semifinals in 56.30 and 56.54, respectively and will both strive for faster times ahead of tomorrow night’s final, in the hope of clocking the set 54.43.

Rene Warnes was at the top of the medal podium in the 200m butterfly in 2:16.75, over six seconds ahead of Marli Jacobs in 2:22.25 and Hanim Abrahams in 2:22.46, while the 100m freestyle title went to Calvyn Justus in 49.88, followed by Myles Brown in 50.21 and Douglas Erasmus in 50.31

Two more Paralympic Qualifying Times were posted in the multi-disability events as Beth Nothling added her name to the growing list, finishing the 50m backstroke in 55.50 to the required 56.11.

Hendri Herbst (S11) raced to his second Paralympic Qualification time in the 100m freestyle, touching the wall in 1:00.01, while Emily Gray claimed the gold in her category in 1:09.94 and Craig Groenewald won the S14 and S15 race in 58.45.

In the S14 and S15 50m backstroke, Mark Roach was victorious in 29.71 ahead of Aaron Putz in 33.08 and Raymond de Freitas in 33.89, while on the ladies side, Christelle Kriel came out on top in 36.55 with the silver and bronze going to Michaela Kretzen (40.57) and Maritza Snyder (42.53). The trio also finished with the gold, silver and bronze in the 100m freestyle, clocking 1:03.20, 1:07.82 and 1:15.28 respectively.

Achmat Hassiem won the S1-S13 50m backstroke in 32.54, followed by Jean Pretorius in 33.87 and Thulane Mabuza in 35.64, as Shireen Sapiro scooped the gold in her respective race in 34.79 ahead of Shannon Martins (40.97) and Michelle Bloem (39.24).

Sapiro (S10) and Hassiem (S10) also claimed the silver medals in the 100m freestyle in 1:08.99 and 57.38 respectively.

The day 06 heats will start at 10h00 while the finals will begin at 18h30 daily.

The staging of this event has been made possible through the support provided by Swimming SA partners, Sport and Recreation South Africa, Sascoc, National Lotteries Commission, Arena, Rand Water and the SABC.

Olympic Qualifying Times following Day 05:

Sebastien Rousseau – 400m individual medley – 4:14.75

Michael Meyer – 400m individual medley – 4:15.71

Myles Brown – 400m freestyle – 3:48.86

Cameron van der Burgh – 100m breaststroke – 59.66

Cameron van der Burgh – 200m breaststroke – 2:10.13

Christopher Reid – 100m backstroke – 54.02

Chad le Clos – 200m freestyle – 1:47.75

Chad le Clos – 200m butterfly – 1:55.04

Jarred Crous – 200m breaststroke – 2:11.65

Paralympic Qualifying Times following Day 05:

Kevin Paul (SM10) – 200m individual medley – 2:15.78

Kevin Paul (SB9) – 100m breaststroke – 1:05.10

Johann van Heerden (SB9) – 100m breaststroke – 1:12.64

Alani Ferreira (SM13) – 200m individual medley – 2:50.43

Alani Ferreira (S13) – 400m freestyle – 5:21.00 (heats)

Alani Ferreira (SB13) – 100m breaststroke – 1:26.90

Alani Ferreira (S13) – 100m butterfly – 1:23.37

Emily Gray (S9) – 400m freestyle – 5:05.36 (heats)

Emily Gray (S10) – 100m backstroke – 1:17.17

Craig Groenewald (SB14) – 100m breaststroke – 1:12.33

Hendri Herbst (S11) – 100m backstroke – 1:16.84

Hendri Herbst (S11) – 100m freestyle – 1:00.01

Shireen Sapiro (S10) – 100m backstroke – 1:11.87

Achmat Hassiem (S10) – 100m butterfly – 1:00.44 (heats)

Beth Nothling (S5) – 50m backstroke – 55.50

Read the story on

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3303 votes
11% - 778 votes
18% - 1279 votes
2% - 140 votes
1% - 57 votes
2% - 148 votes
5% - 363 votes
7% - 514 votes
3% - 220 votes
Water sports
1% - 63 votes
American sports
1% - 56 votes
3% - 187 votes