Matej Mohoric wins Tour stage, day after anti-doping raid on Bahrain team

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Slovenian cyclist Matej Mohoric
Slovenian cyclist Matej Mohoric
Tim De Waele / POOL / AFP

Bahrain Victorious' Slovenian rider Matej Mohoric won stage 19 of the Tour de France on Friday, a day after his team hotel and bus were subject to an anti-doping raid.

It was Mohoric's second win on this edition of the Tour, and was achieved after he joined an early break and then broke clear for a solo win at Libourne, with the main peloton several minutes adrift.

Mohoric made a gesture at the finish line running a finger across his lips horizontally as if he were closing a zip, after the team's third victory of this year's race.

He briefly appeared at the post stage press conference, but then left without saying anything, possibly to head to the winner's podium ceremony as the peloton had arrived so late.

Christophe Laporte of Cofidis was second at 58sec and Casper Pedersen of DSM was third.

Overall leader Tadej Pogacar's UAE Team led the peloton over the line 20min and 49sec later with no change in the overall top ten ahead of Saturday's decisive 30km individual time-trial.

The 19th stage had been billed as the day Mark Cavendish would set a new record of 35 Tour de France stage wins with his fifth win on the 2021 edition.

But an early mass fall and lack of will from other teams to stop a breakaway allowed a large group to build up a 15-minute lead over the main pack.

Results and standings after stage 19 of the Tour de France between Mourenx and Libourne on Friday:

Stage 19

1. Matej Mohoric (SLO/BAH) 4hrs 19min 17sec, 2. Christophe Laporte (FRA/COF) at 58sec, 3. Casper Pedersen (DEN/DSM) 58, 4. Mike Teunissen (NED/JUM) 1:02, 5. Nils Politt (GER/BOR) 1:08, 6. Edward Theuns (BEL/TRE) 1:08, 7. Michael Valgren (DEN/EF1) 1:08, 8. Georg Zimmerman (GER/INT) 1:08, 9. Anthony Turgis (FRA/TOT) 1:10, 10. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/TRE) 1:10.


26. Tadej Pogacar (SLO/UAE) 20min 50sec, 46. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN/JUM) 20:50, 51. Richard Carapaz (ECU/INE) 20:50.

Overall standings

1. Tadej Pogacar (SLO/UAE) 79hr 40min 09sec, 2. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN/JUM) at 5:45, 3. Richard Carapaz (ECU/INE) 5:51, 4. Ben O'Connor (AUS/AG2) 8:18, 5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/BOR) 8:50, 6. Enric Mas (ESP/MOV) 10:11, 7. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ/AST) 11:22, 8. Guillaume Martin (FRA/COF) 12:46, 9. Pello Bilbao (ESP/BAH) 13:48, 10. Rigoberto Urn (COL/EF1) 16:25

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
With the Springboks losing their last two matches against Australia, how concerned are you?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Very concerned! Something is not right ...
58% - 1587 votes
I'm not worried. Every team has a bad game. The Boks will bounce back.
17% - 469 votes
It's too early to tell. Let's see how they go against the All Blacks.
24% - 664 votes