British & Irish Lions

Eighth time a British & Irish Lions series has gone to the wire

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Willie le Roux. (EJ Langner/Gallo Images)
Willie le Roux. (EJ Langner/Gallo Images)

Saturday's third Test between the Springboks and the British & Irish Lions will be the eighth occasion in which the Lions and their opponents have gone into the final match with the series all square.

The Lions have won two of the previous deciders, the host nation four and one was drawn.

Previous deciders:

1903 (South Africa)

The first two Tests were drawn 10-10 and 0-0. South Africa won the decider 8-0 in Cape Town.

1910 (South Africa)

The Springboks won the first Test 14-10 and the Lions the second 8-3. The hosts won the decider 21-5 in Cape Town.

1989 (Australia)

Australia won the first Test 30-12, but the Lions triumphed 19-12 and 19-18 in the next two.

1993 (New Zealand)

New Zealand opened the series with a 20-18 win, then lost 20-7 before achieving a 30-13 victory in the decider.

2001 (Australia)

The Lions opened with a 29-13 win but Australia won the next two Tests 35-14 and 29-23.

2013 (Australia)

The Lions won the first Test 23-21 but Australia edged the second 16-15. Coach Warren Gatland made six changes for the decider, which the Lions won 41-16.

2017 (New Zealand)

The All Blacks won the first Test 30-15, the Lions the second 24-21 and the third Test was drawn 15-15. The only other time the honours were shared in a Lions series was in South Africa in 1955 when a four-match series finished 2-2.


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Franco Mostert, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Marco van Staden, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Damian Willemse

British & Irish Lions

15 Liam Williams (Wales), 14 Josh Adams (Wales), 13 Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), 12 Bundee Aki (Ireland), 11 Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland), 10 Dan Biggar (Wales), 9 Ali Price (Scotland), 8 Jack Conan (Ireland), 7 Tom Curry (England), 6 Courtney Lawes (England), 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain, Wales), 4 Maro Itoje (England), 3 Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), 2 Ken Owens (Wales), 1 Wyn Jones (Wales)

Substitutes: 16. Luke Cowan-Dickie (England), 17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, England), 18 Kyle Sinckler (England), 19 Adam Beard (Wales), 20 Sam Simmonds (England), 21 Conor Murray (Ireland), 22 Finn Russell (Scotland), 23 Elliot Daly (England)

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
West Ham United 1
Genk 0
loading... Live
Knights 127/7
North West 42/0
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
38% - 2081 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 364 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
17% - 910 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
39% - 2151 votes