Crotty replaces Sonny Bill in All Blacks midfield

Ryan Crotty (Getty Images)
Ryan Crotty (Getty Images)

Dublin - The world champion All Blacks have made just one injury-enforced change to the match-day squad to face Ireland in Saturday's one-off Test showdown in Dublin.

Centre Ryan Crotty starts in place of Sonny Bill Williams, who injured his shoulder in last week's dramatic 16-15 win over England, opening a space for Anton Lienert-Brown on the bench.

Coach Steve Hansen reinforced his comments earlier this week that the clash between his top-ranked team and number two Ireland would determine bragging rights for who was the world's best team.

"These are the types of Test matches that gets everyone up," he said.

"It's number one versus number two, and there's a real excitement that's building as we get closer to Saturday."

Hansen has persisted with his preference to field two playmakers against top sides, with Beauden Barrett at flyhalf and Damian McKenzie at fullback.

He conceded that the squad - possibly barring the injury enforced absences of players such as Williams and prop Joe Moody - was similar to the line-up he would be looking at as the All Blacks chase a third straight Rugby World Cup in Japan next year.

"The whole year we've been looking at combinations to make sure next year is really clear in our own minds," he said.

"When you've got so much talent you've got to make sure you've got the right bit of it sorted for when we go to the World Cup."

Aaron Smith will play his 82nd Test to become the most capped All Blacks halfback in history, overtaking Justin Marshall.

Brodie Retallick and Samuel Whitelock will set a new record for an All Blacks' lock partnership, starting in their 50th Test together.

Kick-off is at 21:00 SA time.



15 Rob Kearney; 14 Keith Earls, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Jacob Stockdale; 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Kieran Marmion; 8 CJ Stander, 7 Dan Leavy, 6 Peter O'Mahony; 5 James Ryan, 4 Devin Toner; 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (captain), 1 Cian Healy

Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Jack McGrath, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Josh van der Flier, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Jordan Larmour

New Zealand

15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Karl Tu'inukuafe

Substitutes: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Matt Todd, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Richie Mo'unga, 23 Anton Lienert-Brown

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Delhi Capitals 0
Punjab Kings 87/0
loading... Live
Mamelodi Sundowns 0
loading... Live
Manchester United 0
Burnley 0
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 13396 votes
12% - 4079 votes
19% - 6167 votes
3% - 850 votes
1% - 327 votes
2% - 775 votes
5% - 1668 votes
8% - 2792 votes
4% - 1166 votes
Water sports
1% - 303 votes
American sports
1% - 410 votes
3% - 1109 votes