Currie Cup

Griquas tweak side for Lions semi-final

Christiaan Meyer (Gallo Images)
Christiaan Meyer (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Griquas coach Brent Janse van Rensburg has named his team to face the Golden Lions in a Currie Cup semi-final clash in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Janse van Rensburg has made three changes to the starting XV that lost 27-26 to the Lions in Kimberley last weekend.

There is one change in the backline, with Christiaan Meyer replacing Chriswill September at scrumhalf.

Up front, Zandre Jordaan starts at No 8 in place of Neill Jordaan who drops down to the bench, while Khwezi Mona starts at loosehead prop in place of Mox Mxoli, who is also demoted to the bench.

Griquas are playing in their first Currie Cup semi-final since 1998.

However, they will hope Wednesday's announcement that Janse van Rensburg will quit after the Currie Cup does not disrupt them.

Janse van Rensburg joined the Kimberley-based outfit last year on a three-year deal and coached them to this year's SuperSport Rugby Challenge.

But the Kimberley-based union announced that the head coach will be leaving for an "opportunity at a higher level of the game".

READ: Shock as Griquas coach quits for 'higher level position'

Saturday's clash at Ellis Park is scheduled for 14:00.


Golden Lions

15 Tyrone Green, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Duncan Matthews, 11 Stean Pienaar, 10 Shaun Reynolds, 9 Ross Cronje (captain), 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Pieter Jansen, 1 Sti Sithole

Substitutes: 16 Jan-Henning Campher, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 20 Len Massyn, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Jan-Louis la Grange, 23 Jamba Ulengo


15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead (captain), 9 Christiaan Meyer, 8 Zandre Jordaan, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Khwezi Mona

Substitutes: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Johan Momsen, 19 Neill Jordaan, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Chris Smit, 22 Bjorn Basson, 23 Ruan Kramer

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Wed 02 Feb 22 15:30 PM (SAST)
Tafel Lager Griquas
Airlink Pumas
Tafel Lager Park
Wed 02 Feb 22 17:45 PM (SAST)
Vodacom Bulls
Toyota Cheetahs
Loftus Versfeld
Wed 02 Feb 22 20:00 PM (SAST)
Cell C Sharks
DHL Western Province
Hollywoodbets Kings Park
Wed 19 Jan 22
DHL Western Province 21
Vodacom Bulls 40
Wed 19 Jan 22
Cell C Sharks 24
Tafel Lager Griquas 23
Wed 19 Jan 22
Sigma Lions 9
Airlink Pumas 50
1. Vodacom Bulls
2. DHL Western Province
3. Toyota Cheetahs
4. Sigma Lions