Currie Cup

Pumas pick teenager at flyhalf for WP clash

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Tiaan Botes (Photo: Facebook)
Tiaan Botes (Photo: Facebook)

The Pumas have picked 19-year-old Tiaan Botes at flyhalf for Friday night's Currie Cup clash against Western Province at Newlands.

Coach Jimmy Stonehouse made five changes to the starting XV that beat Griquas 22-17 in Nelspruit last weekend.

Botes, who turned 19 on Monday, starts at pivot in place of Devon Williams.

The youngster came on as a replacement against Griquas but gets his first run in the starting team this week. He represented the Southern Kings in the PRO14 earlier this year before moving to the Pumas.

He will form a new halfback partnership with Chriswill September, who replaces Ginter Smuts in the No 9 jersey.

In other changes, former Blitzbok Ruwellyn Isbell also gets his first chance of the season at left wing, replacing Etienne Taljaard.

Up front, Darrien Landsberg moves from lock to flank in place of Phumzile Maqondwana, with the fit-again Pieter Jansen van Vuren making his comeback in the second row to partner Le Roux Roets.

Jansen van Vuren also takes the captain's armband from Roets.

At loosehead prop, Morgan Naude makes his comeback in place of Dewald Maritz.

Regarding young gun Botes' inclusion, Stonehouse told Netwerk24: "I can already hear people say he's too young... but it's that old adage of 'when you're good enough then you're old enough'."

Friday's clash at Newlands is scheduled for 19:00.


Western Province

15 Damian Willemse, 14 Angelo Davids, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Tristan Leyds, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Jaco Coetzee, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 David Meihuizen, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes (from): 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Johan du Toit, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Dan du Plessis, 24 Kwenzo Blose, 25 Marcel Theunissen, 26 Sihle Njezula


15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Luther Obi, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Ali Mgijima, 11 Ruwellyn Isbell, 10 Tiaan Botes, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Darrien Landsberg, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Ig Prinsloo, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Morgan Naude

Substitutes: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Wikus Groenewald, 18 Brandon Valentyn, 19 Ewart Potgieter, 20 Ginter Smuts, 21 Devon Williams, 22 Japie Kleinhans, 23 Liam Hendricks

- Compiled by Sport24 staff

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Wed 02 Feb 22 15:30 PM (SAST)
Tafel Lager Griquas
Airlink Pumas
Tafel Lager Park
Wed 02 Feb 22 17:45 PM (SAST)
Vodacom Bulls
Toyota Cheetahs
Loftus Versfeld
Wed 02 Feb 22 20:00 PM (SAST)
Cell C Sharks
DHL Western Province
Hollywoodbets Kings Park
Wed 19 Jan 22
DHL Western Province 21
Vodacom Bulls 40
Wed 19 Jan 22
Cell C Sharks 24
Tafel Lager Griquas 23
Wed 19 Jan 22
Sigma Lions 9
Airlink Pumas 50
1. Vodacom Bulls
2. DHL Western Province
3. Toyota Cheetahs
4. Sigma Lions