Currie Cup

WP shake up pack for Pumas Currie Cup tussle

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Neethling Fouche. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images)
Neethling Fouche. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images)

Western Province coach Jerome Paarwater has made four changes to his forward pack for their Currie Cup encounter with Pumas in Nelspruit on Friday night.

Three of the changes are in the front row and the other is at lock, while the backline is unchanged from the one which started in the 28-21 loss to the Cheetahs on 15 April.

There is an all-new front row of props Kwenzo Blose and Neethling Fouche and hooker Jacques van Zyl, while the other change sees Ernst van Rhyn start at lock.

Hooker HP van Schoor and wing Ebenezer Tshimanga are both in line to make their senior WP debuts from a bench which also features Stormers loose forward Junior Pokomela.

Paarwater says they've worked hard behind the scenes to improve.

"This latest break has given us another chance to work on a few things and hopefully we will see the result of that on Friday night.

"The players and coaches continue to work hard and we know that we will have to be at our best to come away with a win."

WP are sixth on the seven-team Currie Cup standings, with only one win from eight matches. The Pumas are fifth with four wins, 10 points ahead of WP.

Friday's clash at Mbombela Stadium kicks off at 19:00.



15 Devon Williams, 14 Sebastian de Klerk, 13 Alwayno Visagie, 12 Eddie Fouche, 11 Tapiwa Mafura, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Chriswill September, 8 Willie Engelbrecht (captain), 7 Anele Lungisa, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Shane Kirkwood, 4 Malembe Mpofu, 3 Ignatius Prinsloo, 2 Eduan Swart, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Llewellyn Classen, 17 Dewald Maritz, 18 Simon Raw, 19 Darrien Landsberg, 20 Phumzile Maqondwana, 21 Giovan Snyman, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Etienne Taljaard

Western Province

15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Timothy Swiel, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Marcel Theunissen, 6 Nama Xaba (captain), 5 Ben-Jason Dixon, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Jacques van Zyl, 1 Kwenzo Blose

Substitutes: 16 HP van Schoor, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Simon Miller, 20 Junior Pokomela, 21 Bobby Alexander, 22 Mnombo Zwelendaba, 23 Ebenezer Tshimanga

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Thu 14 Apr 22 13:00 PM (SAST)
Sigma Lions
The Windhoek Draught Griquas
Wits Rugby Stadium, Johannesburg
Fri 15 Apr 22 14:45 PM (SAST)
DHL Western Province
Toyota Free State XV
DHL Stadium, Cape Town
Sat 16 Apr 22 15:00 PM (SAST)
Cell C Sharks XV
Vodacom Bulls
Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban
Sat 11 Jun 22
Toyota Free State XV
Toyota Free State XV 35
Vodacom Bulls
Vodacom Bulls 5
Fri 10 Jun 22
Airlink Pumas
Airlink Pumas 44
The Windhoek Draught Griquas
The Windhoek Draught Griquas 45
Fri 10 Jun 22
DHL Western Province
DHL Western Province 28
Cell C Sharks XV
Cell C Sharks XV 21
Team Logo
1. Toyota Cheetahs
Team Logo
2. Vodacom Bulls
Team Logo
3. The Windhoek Draught Griquas
Team Logo
4. Airlink Pumas