WP thrash Pumas to lay down Currie Cup marker

Sergeal Petersen (Gallo)
Sergeal Petersen (Gallo)

Cape Town - Western Province were far too strong for the Pumas in Friday night's Currie Cup clash at Mbombela Stadium, running out 57-28 bonus-point winners in what was a highly entertaining affair. 

WP ran in a total of 8 tries to 4 from the Pumas and had raced off to a 26-0 lead, and while the Pumas never gave up the fight, they were comfortably second best throughout the evening. 

The standout player on the evening was WP wing Sergeal Petsren, who ran in two tries of his own and was at the centre of most things positive from the visitors.

There were a lot of eyes on Springbok centre Damian de Allende making his return from injury, and while the 26-year-old delivered a couple of neat try assists, he was relatively quiet in his hour-long stint.

Wilco Louw, meanwhile, will have given Bok coach Rassie Erasmus something to think about ahead of the Australasian tour with a dominant scrum performance, while Sikhumboze Notshe also enjoyed a solid outing in the No 6 jersey.

The Pumas simply never showed up in the opening half-an-hour, and as a result Province raced to a 26-0 lead after four unanswered tries. 

The good news for the home crowd was that their side finally found something as the half was drawing to a close, and two quick tries brought them back into the contest. 

An SP Marais penalty on the stroke of half-time meant that the visitors went into the break 29-14 to the good. 

The second half saw more Petersen-fuelled WP dominance, though the Pumas did respond with two consolation tries of their own.

The result leaves WP top of the Currie Cup log after last weekend's 32-0 win over Free State.


Pumas 28 (14)

Tries: JP Lewis, Le Roux Roets, Jerome Pretorius, Christopher Smith

Conversion: Smith (4)

WP 57 (29)

Tries: Kobus van Dyk, Sergeal Petersen (2), Ruhan Nel, SP Marais, Ernst van Rhyn, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Herschel Jantjies 

Conversions: Marais (6)

Penalty: Marais



15 Gerrit Smith, 14 JP Lewis, 13 Ryan Nell, 12 Hennie Skorbinski (captain), 11 Neil Maritz; 10 Christopher Smith, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Willie Engelbrecht, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Marné Coetzee, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Khwezi Mona

Substitutes: 16 Marko Jansen van Vuuren, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Hugo Kloppers, 19 Hilton Lobberts, 20 Nardus van der Walt, 21 Reynier van Rooyen, 22 Trompie Pretorius

Western Province

15 Dillyn Leyds (captain), 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 SP Marais, 10 Josh Stander, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak.

Substitutes: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Herschel Jantjies, 21 Dan du Plessis, 22 Craig Barry

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 8713 votes
11% - 2217 votes
19% - 3986 votes
2% - 510 votes
1% - 185 votes
2% - 482 votes
5% - 1019 votes
9% - 1759 votes
3% - 709 votes
Water sports
1% - 194 votes
American sports
1% - 256 votes
3% - 648 votes