Gilchrist to lead Scotland in first Pumas Test

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Grant Gilchrist  (Photo by Jane Barlow/PA Images via Getty Images)
Grant Gilchrist (Photo by Jane Barlow/PA Images via Getty Images)

Grant Gilchrist will captain Scotland for the first time since 2018 when he leads them out for the opening Test against Argentina in San Salvador de Jujuy on Saturday.

The 31-year-old Edinburgh lock won his 50th cap against Wales in February and takes over the mantle from Stuart Hogg who, along with flyhalf Finn Russell, has been rested for the tour.

Gilchrist will start the match alongside Jonny Gray in the second row while coach Gregor Townsend has handed Luke Crosbie his first start in the backrow, having captained the A side to a 45-5 win against Chile last weekend.

He will start alongside fellow Edinburgh flanker Magnus Bradbury with Glasgow Warriors No. 8 Matt Fagerson completing the loose forward trio.

In the absence of Racing 92's Russell, Blair Kinghorn keeps the fly-half jersey and continues his pairing with scrumhalf Ali Price which started in Scotland's last outing against Ireland in Dublin in March.

Left winger Duhan van der Merwe, who was suspended for the last two Six Nations matches, returns to the starting line-up while centre Mark Bennett begins a match for the first time since 2016 when he played against Georgia.

Northampton Saints' Rory Hutchison takes Hogg's place at fullback.

Scotland, who are making their first three-Test tour to Argentina, have won their last five meetings with the Pumas including a 44-15 win at Resistencia on their last trip to the country in 2018.

The Pumas, now coached by the Australian Michael Cheika, will be playing their first home Test since losing 46-13 to South Africa in Salta in August 2019.

Following Saturday's first Test in Jujuy on Saturday, they travel to Salta for the second Test a week later before closing with the final Test in Santiago Del Estero on July 16.


15 Rory Hutchinson; 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Duhan van der Merwe; 10 Blair Kinghorn, 9 Ali Price; 8 Matt Fagerson, 7 Luke Crosbie, 6 Magnus Bradbury, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Grant Gilchrist (capt), 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 George Turner, 1 Pierre Schoeman

Substitutes: 16 Ewan Ashman, 17 Rory Sutherland, 18 Javan Sebastian, 19 Sam Skinner, 20 Rory Darge, 21 Ben White, 22 Ross Thompson, 23 Sione Tuipulotu

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Southampton 0
Everton 0
loading... Live
Liverpool 1
Brighton and Hove Albion 2
loading... Live
Fulham 0
Newcastle United 3
loading... Live
Crystal Palace 1
Chelsea 1
loading... Live
AFC Bournemouth 0
Brentford 0
loading... Live
Ospreys 7
Glasgow Warriors 0
loading... Live
Orlando Pirates 0
Mamelodi Sundowns 0
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
53% - 6027 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
47% - 5289 votes
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.