Dragons see off spirited Southern Kings

Michael Willemse (Gallo Images)
Michael Willemse (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Dragons proved too strong for the Southern Kings at Rodney Parade, recovering from their opening round PRO14 defeat to Benetton to win 27-22.

The hosts started the game off on the front foot, with Ollie Griffiths scoring the first try after just three minutes following a break from deep. Aaron Wainwright then added a second 10 minutes later after charging down Masixole Banda’s clearance.

With two conversions and a penalty to their name in addition to the early tries, Dragons led 17-0 after 21 minutes, but their momentum was derailed five minutes later when Rhodri Williams was yellow-carded for a deliberate knock-on.

After a sustained spell of Kings pressure, Michael Willemse scored in the corner following a lineout maul immediately after the yellow card.

Just three minutes later, the South African side added another try through Bjorn Basson, who surged down the touchline from halfway to get the ball down in the corner. 

The visitors carried their momentum into the second half, and although the Dragons kept them at bay with some solid defending initially, Godlen Masimla scored in the corner 15 minutes after the break.

Following Banda’s conversion, the scores stayed level until Josh Lewis’ penalty 62 minutes into the game. Four minutes later, Lewis got on the end of an up-and-under from Rhodri Williams and ran all the way to score, extending the lead beyond a converted try.

An 80th minute consolation try from Yaw Penxe came too late for the Kings as they came up just short of their first away win in PRO14 history.



Tries: O Griffiths, A Wainwright, J Lewis

Conversions: J Lewis 3

Penalties: J Lewis 2

Yellow Cards: R Williams


Tries: M Willemse, B Basson, G Masimla, Y Penxe 

Conversion: M Banda



15 Jordan Williams, 14 Dafydd Howells, 13 Tyler Morgan, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Josh Lewis, 9 Rhodri Williams, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Ollie Griffiths, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Cory Hill (captain), 4 Matthew Screech, 3 Leon Brown, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Brok Harris

Substitutes: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Ryan Bevington, 18 Lloyd Fairbrother, 19 Brandon Nansen, 20 Huw Taylor, 21 Tavis Knoyle, 22 Arwel Robson, 23 Adam Warren

Kings: 15 Yaw Penxe, 14 Michael Makase, 13 Harlon Klassen, 12 Berton Klassen, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Masixole Banda, 9 Rudi van Rooyen, 8 Andisa Ntsila, 7 Martinus Burger, 6 Stephan De Wit, 5 Bobby De Wee, 4 Schalk Oelofse, 3 Luvuyo Pupuma, 2 Michael Willemse (captain), 1 Justin Forwood

Substitutes:  16 Alandre Van Rooyen, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Lupumlo Mguca, 19 John-Charles Astle, 20 Ruaan Lerm, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Martin Du Toit, 23 Ulrich Beyers

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2494 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2283 votes