SA Rugby confirm new Southern Kings board

PRO14 action between the Southern Kings and Connacht at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on 1 March 2020.
PRO14 action between the Southern Kings and Connacht at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth on 1 March 2020.
Michael Sheehan/Getty Images

SA Rugby confirmed a new five-person board to oversee all Southern Kings affairs on Friday.

Last month, SA Rugby has taken management control over the embattled Southern Kings by taking back a 74% shareholding in the franchise.

"Andre Rademan, the Eastern Province Rugby Union (EPRU) president, has been appointed as the new chairperson and is joined by Mbulelo Gidane, chairperson of the EPRU Finance and Human Resources Committee, SA Rugby Executive Council nominees, Monde Tabata and Jannie Louw, and independent, Gugu Nxiweni, who has been retained from the previous board.

"The appointments follow SA Rugby's renewed involvement in the franchise, following the decision to take back a 74% shareholding on 19 June after the equity partner - the Greatest Rugby Company in the Whole Wide World (GRC) - was unable to meet contractual commitments.

"The EPRU have two places on the board as the minority shareholder (26%).

"SA Rugby has assumed responsibility for the management of the franchise's affairs while team preparations for a return-to-play under Kings' director of rugby, Robbie Kempson, are being supported by the SA Rugby's, director of rugby, Rassie Erasmus."

The Southern Kings will continue to participate in the PRO14 and any other events scheduled by SA Rugby once coronavirus restrictions are eased.

Southern Kings timeline:

  • November 2010: SA Rugby announces intention to field the Southern Kings in Super Rugby in 2013.
  • February 2013: Kings compete in the Super Rugby competition as one of five South African teams.
  • August 2013: Kings lose place in Super Rugby in a two-legged play off against the Lions.
  • November 2015: SA Rugby takes control of the franchise when EPRU, to whom the operation of the franchise had been granted, ran into financial trouble.
  • February 2016: Kings return to Super Rugby when the competition expands to 18 teams.
  • April 2017: SANZAAR announces that Super Rugby will contract from 18 teams to 15 teams in 2018.
  • September 2017: The Kings (and Cheetahs) are included as South Africa’s ground-breaking representatives in the PRO14 competition.
  • January 2019: GRC acquires 74% shareholding in the franchise; EPRU retain a 26% shareholding.
  • June 2020: SA Rugby resumes control of the Southern Kings following the failure of GRC to meet contractual commitments.

- Compiled by Sport24 staff

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
45% - 5530 votes
11% - 1371 votes
18% - 2290 votes
2% - 277 votes
1% - 107 votes
2% - 278 votes
5% - 610 votes
8% - 977 votes
3% - 390 votes
Water sports
1% - 109 votes
American sports
1% - 117 votes
3% - 359 votes