Rainbow Cup

Coetzee takes over from Vermeulen in Bulls' Rainbow Cup SA decider against Sharks

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Marcell Coetzee. (Photo by Christiaan Kotze/Gallo Images)
Marcell Coetzee. (Photo by Christiaan Kotze/Gallo Images)

Marcell Coetzee takes over the Bulls captaincy for Saturday's PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA decider against the Sharks in Durban.

Coetzee moves from flank to No 8 in place of regular skipper Duane Vermeulen, who has undergone ankle surgery.

Ruan Nortje shifts to blindside flank, opening up space for lock Janko Swanepoel to start in the engine room.

Nortje's move to the side of the scrum is a result of the injury to Elrigh Louw, with Marco van Staden covering openside flank.

The rest of the Bulls starting line-up remains unchanged from the one which edged the Stormers 31-27 in Pretoria last weekend. 

Springbok Nizaam Carr and Junior Springbok Muller Uys have received call ups to take the places of Swanepoel and Van Staden on the bench respectively. 

The trip to Durban marks the end of the PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA regular season, with the Bulls going into the game in pole position to contest the North v South final.

"We have approached this match as if it were a semi-final. Nothing less than a win is good enough. The boys need no further motivation and despite a few injuries, come Saturday we will be focused and determined to execute our plan," director of rugby Jake White said.

The Bulls currently top the standings on 20 points, with the Sharks second on 16.

In order to pip the men from Pretoria to the post, the Durbanites need a clear bonus point win, while not allowing the Bulls to score four tries or come within seven points of them.

A four point win won't be enough for the Sharks as the Bulls have a significantly better points differential (+54 compared to the -14 of the Sharks).

Saturday's clash at Kings Park kicks off at 18:15.



15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Anthony Volmink, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 JJ van der Mescht, 3 Khutha Mchunu, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Khwezi Mona 

Substitutes: TBA


15 David Kriel, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Stravino Jacobs, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Marcell Coetzee (captain), 7 Ruan Nortje, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Janko Swanepoel, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp

Substitutes: 16 Schalk Erasmus, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Muller Uys, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 Gio Aplon

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24