Los Pumas name team to face Springboks

Mario Ledesma (Getty)
Mario Ledesma (Getty)

Durban - Argentina have picked prop Juan Figallo for a Rugby Championship opener against South Africa in Durban Saturday as they relax a policy of choosing only home-based players.

Figallo from English Premiership club Saracens was not included in the original 36-strong squad named by new coach and former national team hooker Mario Ledesma.

But he was named on Thursday as the tighthead prop in a front row completed by loosehead Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro and captain and hooker Agustin Creevy.

Since coming fourth at the 2015 World Cup in England, the Pumas have ignored Argentines playing in Europe and based the team around Buenos Aires-based Super Rugby outfit Jaguares.

However, a run of just six victories in 28 internationals, including three humiliating home losses two months ago to weakened Wales and Scotland sides, forced a rethink.

Figallo is one of three changes to the pack that started in a 44-15 drubbing from the Scots in Resistencia.

He replaces loosehead Juan Diaz with Chaparro switching sides and Marcos Kremer and Javier Ortega Desio come into the back row for Tomas Lezana and Leonardo Senatore.

Lezana is among the eight replacements while an injury sidelined veteran Senatore for the clash with the Springboks.

Fullback Emiliano Boffelli, winger Bautista Delguy, inside centre Bautista Ezcurra and flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez survive from the starting backline against Scotland.

Ledesma preferred outside centre Matias Moroni, winger Ramiro Moyano and scrumhalf Gonzalo Bertranou to Matias Orlando, Sebastian Cancelliere and long-serving Martin Landajo.

Landajo, whose halfback partnership with Sanchez was a key factor in the impressive 2015 World Cup run in England, is among the replacements.

A significant change on the bench is uncapped Diego Fortuny getting the nod ahead of long-time reserve hooker Julian Montoya.

Saturday's Test is scheduled for 17:05.


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Makazole Mapimpi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Siya Kolisi (captain), 6 Francois Louw, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Marco van Staden, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Lionel Mapoe, 23 Damian Willemse


15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Matias Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustin Creevy (captain), 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

Substitutes: 16 Diego Fortuny, 17 Santiago Garcia Botta, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Tomas Lavanini, 20 Tomas Lezana, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Cruz Mallia

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Pakistan 33/4
South Africa 220/10
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 11489 votes
12% - 3327 votes
19% - 5188 votes
3% - 703 votes
1% - 271 votes
2% - 645 votes
5% - 1420 votes
8% - 2347 votes
3% - 932 votes
Water sports
1% - 248 votes
American sports
1% - 340 votes
3% - 909 votes