Pumas change for Perth Test

Santiago Phelan (File)
Santiago Phelan (File)

Sydney - Argentina head coach Santiago Phelan on Tuesday made five changes from the team that lost to the All Blacks for the Rugby Championship Test against Australia in Perth on Saturday.

Kick-off is at 12:05 SA time.

Tomas Cubelli will start at scrumhalf with Martin Landajo dropping to the bench, while Phelan has made a double change in the midfield with veteran Felipe Contepomi to play in what will be his 85th Test match at inside centre, with London Welsh-based Gonzalo Tiesi at outside centre.

In another change in the backline, Juan Imhoff was restored to the starting line-up in the place of the injured Gonzalo Camacho, who returned to England on Tuesday with a dislocated shoulder.

The forward pack, impressive in last Saturday's 28-13 loss to the All Blacks in Hamilton, features one change with Agustin Creevy named as hooker and Eusebio Guinazu relegated to the reserves.

Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe continues as Pumas captain in his 54th Test match, and the English Premiership and Heineken Cup winner will be joined by Juan Manuel Leguizamon playing in his 50th Test match.

The Pumas have won just one Test away from home against the Wallabies, in 1983 in Ballymore, scoring 18-3. This weekend will be their 11th encounter in Australia.

The Wallabies have won just one of their six Tests this season following Saturday's record 38-12 mauling by the Springboks in Brisbane.

Australia must regroup quickly against Argentina to avoid a fifth straight loss and a run not seen since Eddie Jones' ill-fated final year in charge in 2005.

Ewen McKenzie has now lost all three internationals since taking over as coach from Robbie Deans in July, with the Wallabies conceding a total of 12 tries in two losses to the All Blacks and one to the Springboks.

Both the Wallabies and Argentina have yet to win in this year's four-nation series, although the Pumas have a bonus point to relegate Australia to last spot at the halfway stage of the tournament.

Australia have not lost to the Pumas since 1997 in Buenos Aires.





15 Juan Martin Hernandez, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Gonzalo Tiesi, 12  Felipe Contepomi, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 Pablo Matera, 6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (captain), 5 Julio Farias Cabello, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Marcos Ayerza

Substitutes: 16 Eusebio Guinazu, 17 Nahuel Lobo, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Mariano Galarza, 20 Benjamin Macome, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Fernandez, 23 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Pumas 22
Griquas 17
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10263 votes
11% - 2782 votes
19% - 4637 votes
2% - 608 votes
1% - 231 votes
2% - 562 votes
5% - 1225 votes
8% - 2050 votes
3% - 825 votes
Water sports
1% - 218 votes
American sports
1% - 302 votes
3% - 790 votes