Winger Caleb Clarke plays first Test since 2020 as All Blacks ring changes for Springboks

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article

"What a great way to start the 2022 Rugby Championship," said Foster. "It is always an exciting tournament to be part of.

"The draw means we have a massive challenge of two games here in South Africa. We have settled in well in Mbombela and are preparing for what is always an intense game against our old foe.

"Many of our squad are here in South Africa for the first time. This gives us another opportunity to add new experiences and grow our game."

The New Zealand slump began last November when they were beaten by Ireland and France on an end-of-season tour.

Then, after kicking off a three-match tour by Ireland with a convincing victory, they were beaten twice by the tourists within eight days to lose a home series for the first time in 27 years.

The media reflected the anger of a rugby-loving nation with senior columnist Hamish Bidwell among those who did not spare the men in black.

"For all that is wrong with the running of New Zealand Rugby and the All Blacks, the fact remains that the team is not very good.

"These blokes, with their flash haircuts and sabbaticals and tattoos and massive wages, simply have not delivered. Not this year, not last year, and not the two seasons before that either.

"They have lost lineouts, missed tackles, dropped passes and kicked away good ball too often to be regarded as an elite team.

"If they spent as much time on skill execution or studying the opposition as they do writing messages on their wrist bands or practising fancy handshakes after try celebrations, maybe they would win a game now and then.

"The winning has stopped and the only people who appear not to be suffering any consequences are the players. When is it actually going to be their fault?"

Kick-off is at 17:05 on Saturday.


South Africa

15 Damian Willemse, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Trevor Nyakane

Substitutes: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Franco Mostert, 21 Kwagga Smith, 22 Jaden Hendrikse, 23 Willie le Roux

New Zealand

15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 David Havili, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Akira Ioane, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei'aho, 1 George Bower

Substitutes: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ethan de Groot, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Shannon Frizell, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Richie Mo’unga, 23 Quinn Tupaea

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24