Fiji change 12 for Uruguay at Rugby World Cup

Dominiko Waqaniburotu
Dominiko Waqaniburotu

Tokyo - Fiji on Monday unveiled a raft of changes for their Rugby World Cup Pool D game against Uruguay, with only three players surviving from their opening clash with Australia.

Captain Dominiko Waqaniburotu, loose forward Leone Nakarawa and centre Semi Radrada will be the only remaining starters from the Australia game for Wednesday's match.

There was no place in the matchday squad for flanker Peceli Yato, who left the field with a concussion during Fiji's 39-21 defeat to Australia on Saturday.

Josh Matavesi was named at flyhalf with his brother Samuel on the bench, while Mesulame Dolokoto, Jale Vatubua and Filipo Nakosi will make their World Cup debuts.

Meanwhile, Uruguay coach Esteban Meneses picked a young side for his team's first match, including two playing professional rugby in France.

Los Toros will be led by flyhalf Felipe Berchesi, who plays for the southern French team Dax, and can also count on experienced flanker Juan Manuel Gaminara, who played all three games for Uruguay at the 2015 World Cup.

The Flying Fijians impressed in the first half of their match against Australia, but tired after the break in a highly physical encounter.

The match is a repeat of the pool game in 2015 which Fiji won 47-15.

It is one of two matches played in Kamaishi, at the only purpose-built stadium in the World Cup.

The small town in north-eastern Japan with a proud rugby history was devastated by the 2011 earthquake and tsunami. Locals are hoping that successfully staging the two matches will give the world a powerful sign of recovery.



15 Alivereti Veitokani, 14 Filipo Nakosi, 13 Semi Radradra, 12 Jale Vatubua, 11 Vereniki Goneva, 10 Josh Matavesi, 9 Henry Seniloli, 8 Leone Nakarawa, 7 Mosese Voka, 6 Dominiko Waqaniburotu (captain), 5 Api Ratuniyarawa, 4 Tevita Ratuva, 3 Manasa Saulo, 2 Mesulame Dolokoto, 1 Eroni Mawi

Substitutes: Tuvere Vugakoto, Campese Ma'afu, Lee-Roy Atalifo, Tevita Cavubati, Samuel Matavesi, Nikola Matawalu, Ben Volavola, Levani Botia


15 Gaston Mieres, 14 Nicolas Freitas, 13 Juan Manuel Cat, 12 Andres Vilaseca, 11 Rodrigo Silva, 10 Felipe Berchesi, 9 Santiago Arata, 8 Manuel Diana, 7 Santiago Civetta, 6 Juan Manuel Gaminara (captain), 5 Manuel Leindekar, 4 Ignacio Dotti, 3 Diego Arbelo, 2 German Kessler, 1 Mateo Sanguinetti

Substitutes: 16 Guillermo Pujadas, 17 Facundo Gattas, 18 Juan Pedro Rombys, 19 Franco Lamanna, 20 Juan Diego Ormaechea, 21 Agustin Ormaechea, 22 Felipe Etcheverry, 23 Tomas Inciarte

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 6373 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
6% - 1014 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
21% - 3457 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
33% - 5433 votes