Ireland thump Scotland, edge closer to Springbok quarter-final

Ireland v Scotland (Getty Images)
Ireland v Scotland (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Ireland proved far too strong for their Six Nations rivals Scotland in their Pool A Rugby World Cup clash in Yokohama on Sunday.

As it happened | Ireland v Scotland

Ireland won 27-3 after leading 19-3 at half-time.

With their bonus-point victory - barring an upset of epic proportions - the Irish all-but set up a mouth-watering quarter-final clash against the Springboks on Sunday, October 20 in Tokyo.

With Ireland likely winners of their pool - and the Springboks destined for the runner-up spot in their pool following their 23-13 defeat to New Zealand on Saturday - the two sides will lock horns in the playoffs.

Ireland, the world's No 1 side heading into the tournament, scored four tries through lock James Ryan, hooker Rory Best, prop Tadhg Furlong and wing Andrew Conway.

Flyhalf Jonathan Sexton and scrumhalf Conor Murray each added a conversion, while replacement pivot Jack Carty contributed a penalty.

Scotland replied with a solitary penalty by scrumhalf Greig Laidlaw and now face an uphill battle in order to qualify for the playoffs.

Ireland picked up a full-house of five points for their victory to top Pool A, while Scotland left empty-handed.

Ireland's next assignment is against hosts Japan on Saturday, September 28 (09:15 SA time), while Scotland face Samoa in their second fixture on Monday, September 30 (12:15 SA time).



Tries: James Ryan, Rory Best, Tadhg Furlong, Andrew Conway

Conversions: Jonathan Sexton, Conor Murray

Penalty: Jack Carty


Penalty: Greig Laidlaw



15 Jordan Larmour, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 James Ryan, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (captain), 1 Cian Healy

Substitutes: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 David Kilcoyne, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Tadhg Beirne, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Jack Carty, 23 Chris Farrell


15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Duncan Taylor, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 John Barclay, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Willem Nel, 2 Stuart McInally (captain), 1  Allan Dell

Substitutes: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Simon Berghan, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Blade Thomson, 21 Ali Price, 22 Chris Harris, 23 Darcy Graham

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 8899 votes
11% - 2288 votes
19% - 4065 votes
2% - 527 votes
1% - 189 votes
2% - 493 votes
5% - 1039 votes
9% - 1800 votes
3% - 724 votes
Water sports
1% - 196 votes
American sports
1% - 264 votes
3% - 668 votes