3 Blitzboks crack nod for Cape Town Dream Team

 Rosko Specman (Getty images)
Rosko Specman (Getty images)

Cape Town - Three Blitzboks have cracked the nod for the Cape Town Sevens Dream Team.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

The Springbok Sevens side lost 7-5 to New Zealand in the Cup final, but there was some consolation for JC Pretorius, Rosko Specman and Ruhan Nel whose efforts were recognised by the organisers.

The Blitzboks were without Nel in the final as the midfielder picked up a hand injury in their 21-14 semi-final win against France.

But it was enough for him to earn Dream Team honours as he finished as South Africa's top try-scorer at this weekend's event, crossing the whitewash five times.

The rest of the Dream Team comprised Kenya's Alvin Otieno, New Zealand's Scott Curry, Ireland's Jordan Conroy and France's Jean-Pascal Barraque.

The Blitzboks, who beat the All Blacks 15-0 in the Dubai final last weekend, are now level at the top of the standings with the Kiwis on 41 points apiece.
We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Afghanistan 98/2
Scotland 0
Voting Booth
With Faf de Klerk out injured, who should start at scrumhalf for the Springboks against Wales on 6 November?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Herschel Jantjies
33% - 316 votes
Cobus Reinach
64% - 602 votes
Grant Williams
3% - 29 votes