Blitzbok trio cracks nod for Dream Team

Cape Town - Following their win at this past weekend’s Sydney Sevens, three Springbok Sevens players cracked the nod for the tournament’s Dream Team.

The Blitzboks beat England 29-14 in Sunday’s Cup Final to claim their third win of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens Series.

It was a swansong tournament for Seabelo Senatla and Kwagga Smith, who will for the foreseeable future ply their trade in the 15-man code in Super Rugby.

Both players went out on a high and were included in the Dream Team, along with team-mate Justin Geduld.

England’s Phil Burgess, Fiji’s Jerry Tuwai, New Zealand’s Tim Mikkelson and America’s Danny Barrett completed the team.

The South Africans also extended their lead in the overall series, with the Blitzboks (85) now 17 points in front of England (68), with Fiji (64) and New Zealand (56) further back.

The next event in the series is scheduled for Las Vegas on the weekend of March 3-5.

For that event, the Blitzboks were drawn in Pool A alongside Wales, France and Canada.

England top Pool B with USA, Samoa and a yet to be announced invitational side.

New Zealand, Argentina, Russia and Kenya will battle in out in Pool C and Australia meet Fiji, Japan and Scotland in Pool D.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10257 votes
11% - 2778 votes
19% - 4637 votes
2% - 607 votes
1% - 231 votes
2% - 562 votes
5% - 1223 votes
8% - 2048 votes
3% - 824 votes
Water sports
1% - 218 votes
American sports
1% - 302 votes
3% - 790 votes