Blitzboks crowned World Series champions

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Blitzboks (Images courtesy of official Springbok Sevens)
Blitzboks (Images courtesy of official Springbok Sevens)

The Blitzboks clinched the 2021 World Rugby Sevens Series title after beating Great Britain 24-12 in the final of the Edmonton leg on Sunday. 

Muller du Plessis and Siviwe Soyizwapi scored two tries each for the South Africans, who had also won the Vancouver Sevens the week before. 

With the 2021 World Series limited to just those two events because of the pandemic, the Blitzboks are now champions. 

Earlier, Neil Powell's men beat Kenya 33-7 in the semi-final.

South Africa also beat Mexico 56-0, Hong Kong 43-5 and Canada 49-0 to continue their impressive form last weekend in Vancouver, where they claimed their first Canada Sevens tournaments.

Against their African compatriots Du Plessis (2 tries), Soyizwapi (2) and Ronald Brown scored, with Brown converting four of the five tries.

This is the Blitzboks' first World Series title since 2018.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
39% - 2044 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 359 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
17% - 886 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
38% - 1989 votes