Blitzboks duo make Sydney Dream Team

Seabelo Senatla (AP)
Seabelo Senatla (AP)

Cape Town - They didn’t get the result they wanted at the Sydney Sevens, but there was some consolation for the Blitzboks after two South Africans were included in the Dream Team for the tournament.

South Africa finished fourth at the World Rugby Sevens Series event in Sydney this past weekend after losing 26-12 to Fiji in the Bronze Final.

Earlier, the Blitzboks lost 12-7 in the Cup semi-finals to hosts Australia.

But speedsters Cheslin Kolbe and Seabelo Senatla will be chuffed after making it into the tournament’s Dream Team.

New Zealand - who beat Australia 27-24 in the final - have three representatives in the Dream Team. They are: Rieko Ioane, Akira Ioane and Tim Mikkelson.

Two Australians - Ed Jenkins and Lewis Holland - complete the team.

Meanwhile, the Blitzboks are now one of three countries tied with 69 points at the top of the standings after four rounds of World Rugby Sevens Series action.

Fiji have the best point average of the trio, and are therefore first on the log, followed by South Africa and New Zealand.

The draw for the next tournament in Las Vegas, from March 4 to 6, was also confirmed. The South Africans are top seeds in Pool D and will face the USA, Canada and Wales.

World Rugby Sevens Series log standings after round four in Sydney:

1. Fiji (69 points)

2. South Africa (69)

3. New Zealand (69)

4. Australia (54)

5. Argentina (54)

6. England (51)

7. United States (49)

8. Kenya (42)

9. France (29)

10. Samoa (28)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7771 votes
11% - 1963 votes
19% - 3554 votes
3% - 464 votes
1% - 169 votes
2% - 439 votes
5% - 911 votes
8% - 1535 votes
3% - 611 votes
Water sports
1% - 168 votes
American sports
1% - 217 votes
3% - 570 votes