Stormers name co-captains for European United Rugby Championship tour

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Ernst van Rhyn and Salmaan Moerat during a training session. (Photo by Grant Pitcher/Gallo Images)
Ernst van Rhyn and Salmaan Moerat during a training session. (Photo by Grant Pitcher/Gallo Images)

Salmaan Moerat and Ernst van Rhyn have been appointed co-captains of the Stormers for their upcoming European United Rugby Championship tour.

With regular Stormers captain Steven Kitshoff away on Springbok duty, Moerat and van Rhyn will share the captaincy responsibilities on a tour which will see the Stormers take on Benetton Treviso, Munster, Edinburgh and the Dragons over the next month.

Both players have significant leadership experience as former SA Schools and Junior Springbok captains.

Van Rhyn captained Western Province in the recent Currie Cup and led the Stormers against the British & Irish Lions, while Moerat has recently recovered from a neck injury, having been named as Kitshoff’s vice-captain earlier in the year.

Moerat and Van Rhyn were named in a 33-man Stormers squad, which will leave for Italy on Saturday.

Stormers coach John Dobson said Moerat and Van Rhyn are both natural leaders who will be able to get the best out of the group on tour.

"Salmaan and Ernst are both very comfortable in the captaincy role, having both done the job for just about every team they have played in, so it made sense to let them share the workload on this tour.

"We know that this will be a challenging tour, but it is something we as a group are embracing as we embark on a new journey in the United Rugby Championship.

"We have brought some quality players into the mix and they are all keen to make their mark in the Stormers jersey," Dobson told the team's official website.

Stormers touring squad:

Forwards: Justin Basson, Dian Bleuler, Kwenzo Blose, Willie Engelbrecht, Neethling Fouche, Deon Fourie, Brok Harris, JJ Kotze, Leon Lyons, Salmaan Moerat (co-captain), Scarra Ntubeni, Junior Pokomela, Evan Roos, Sazi Sandi, Adre Smith, Marcel Theunissen, Ernst van Rhyn (co-captain), Andre-Hugo Venter, Nama Xaba

Backs: Juan de Jongh, Paul de Wet, Dan du Plessis, Warrick Gelant, Tristan Leyds, Manie Libbok, Godlen Masimla, Ruhan Nel, Sergeal Petersen, Rikus Pretorius, Tim Swiel, Stefan Ungerer, Edwill van der Merwe, Leolin Zas

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
India 325/10 & 69/0
New Zealand 62/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5542 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 936 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2886 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4724 votes